Summer Preview: Pride 2023

By Kat La Mantia | April 4 2023 | BlogAdultsChildren'sGeneralAll

Pride is coming up in June! In a year when there’s been an explosion of anti-LGBTQ+ bills and legislation, book bans targeting LGBTQ+ books, and online misinformation campaigns against the queer community, celebrating Pride in 2023 is critical. This year, celebrate and educate with books. Explore queer history with The Stonewall Reader and Transgender Warriors. Give the gift of Pride with Queer Love in Color or The Queer Film Guide for your favorite movie buff. Young readers can celebrate inclusivity with ABC Pride and Rebel Girls Celebrate Pride. Award-winning Kings of B’more and Some Girls Do are great reads for teens, and adult fiction lovers will devour the gothic thriller Tripping Arcadia or Lana Harper’s hit rom-com Payback’s a Witch.

Explore our Pride 2023 title lists, and fly your rainbow flags high this June.

 

Pride 2023 – Gift and Non-Fiction Adult LGBTQ+ Titles

Pride 2023 – Trending Fiction Adult LGBTQ+ Titles

Pride 2023 – Children’s LGBTQ+ Titles

Pride 2023 – Teen and YA LGBTQ+ Titles

Colorfully Queer: LGBTQ+ Graphic Novels

Trans Stories / Trans Voices

 

 

We Are Everywhere
Protest, Power, and Pride in the History of Queer Liberation
978-0-399-58181-6
Have pride in history. A rich and sweeping photographic history of the Queer Liberation Movement, from the creators and curators of the massively popular Instagram account @lgbt_history, released in time for the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots.
$40.00 US
May 07, 2019
9 x 12
Hardcover
368 Pages
Ten Speed Press

Queerly Beloved
A Novel
978-0-593-24397-8
A people-pleasing baker tries to find her place as a bridesmaid-for-hire. Will she finally find her happily ever after—and her own voice?
$17.00 US
May 03, 2022
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
400 Pages
Dial Press Trade Paperback

Queer Power!
Icons, Activists & Game Changers from Across the Rainbow
978-0-593-52135-9
An inspiring, expansive anthology that celebrates some of the LGBTQIA+ community’s trailblazers, champions, and icons from across the rainbow.
$14.99 US
Apr 18, 2023
5 x 8
Paperback
160 Pages
Penguin Workshop
Age 12 and up

Kapaemahu
978-0-593-53006-1
An Indigenous legend about how four extraordinary individuals of dual male and female spirit, or mahu, brought healing arts from Tahiti to Hawaii, based on the Academy Award–contending short film.
$17.99 US
Jun 07, 2022
9 x 9
Hardcover
40 Pages
Kokila
Age 4-8 years

Burn the Page
A True Story of Torching Doubts, Blazing Trails, and Igniting Change
978-0-593-29655-4
An inspirational memoir-meets-manifesto by Danica Roem, the nation's first openly trans person elected to US state legislature
$27.00 US
Apr 26, 2022
6 x 9
Hardcover
320 Pages
Viking

Your Driver Is Waiting
A Novel
978-0-385-54930-1
A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: Autostraddle, Shondaland, Booklist • In this electrifyingly fierce and funny social satire—inspired by the iconic 1970s film Taxi Driver—a ride share driver is barely holding it together on the hunt for love, dignity, and financial security...until she decides she's done waiting.“What you are about to read is a call to arms. Best to prepare for a confrontation." —New York Times Book Review"A perfect gut punch of a novel…Full of love and real friendship and frustrations boiled over and the urge to burn everything down…This is a hard-hitting masterpiece.—Kristen Arnett, author of With Teeth and Mostly Dead Things
$26.00 US
Feb 28, 2023
5-1/8 x 8
Hardcover
320 Pages
Doubleday

Man o' War
978-0-593-35370-7
An achingly honest and frequently hilarious coming-of-age novel about an Arab American trans swimmer fighting to keep their head above water in a landlocked Midwestern town.
$18.99 US
May 31, 2022
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
336 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers
Age 14 and up

Pride: An Inspirational History of the LGBTQ+ Movement
978-0-593-38294-3
Take pride in who you are! This inspiring history of the LGBTQ+ community enlightens young readers on the true timeline of LGBTQ+ history around the world, the lives of important figures like Harvey Milk, and iconic events like Stonewall.
$14.99 US
Apr 19, 2022
6-3/8 x 8-3/4
Hardcover
128 Pages
Penguin Workshop
Age 10 and up

DC Pride: The New Generation
978-1-77951-848-4
The highly anticipated sequel to the Ringo Award-winning DC Pride 2021, DC Pride: The New Generation features more stories, more characters, and more pride than ever before! Spotlighting LGBTQIA+ fan-favorites new and old, including Superman (Jon Kent), Nubia, Tim Drake, Kid Quick, Connor Hawke, Aquaman (Jackson Hyde), Green Lantern (Jo Mullein), Alysia Yeoh, the Ray, Harley Quinn, Poison Ivy and Batwoman - brought to life by a stellar lineup of queer and ally talent!2023 Eisner Winner - Best Short Story, "Finding Batman" by Kevin Conroy and J. Bone
$19.99 US
May 23, 2023
6-5/8 x 10-3/16
Hardcover
192 Pages
DC Comics

That Summer Feeling
978-0-593-54924-7
Turns out you're never too old for a summer camp romance. Or a change of heart. When a divorced woman attends a sleepaway camp for adults only, she reconnects with a man from her past—only to catch feelings for his sister instead.
$17.00 US
May 30, 2023
5-3/16 x 8
Paperback
336 Pages
Berkley

Mama and Mommy and Me in the Middle
978-1-5362-1151-1
A little girl stays home with Mama when Mommy goes off on a work trip in this tender, inviting story that will resonate with every child who has missed a parent.For one little girl, there’s no place she’d rather be than sitting between Mama and Mommy. So when Mommy goes away on a work trip, it’s tricky to find a good place at the table. As the days go by, Mama brings her to the library, they watch movies, and all of them talk on the phone, but she still misses Mommy as deep as the ocean and as high as an astronaut up in the stars. As they pass by a beautiful garden, the girl gets an idea . . . but when Mommy finally comes home, it takes a minute to shake off the empty feeling she felt all week before leaning in for a kiss. Michael L. Printz Award winner Nina LaCour thoughtfully renders a familiar, touching story of a child who misses a parent, illustrated by Kaylani Juanita, whose distinctive style brings charm and playfulness to this delightful family of three.
$17.99 US
Mar 29, 2022
9-1/16 x 10-5/8
Hardcover
32 Pages
Candlewick
Age 3-7 years

Kisses For Jet
A Coming-of-Gender Story
978-1-913123-03-1
A striking and emotive graphic novel from debut trans creator, Joris Bas Backer about coming to terms with his gender before the age of the internet. For fans of Gender Queer and The Black Flamingo.
$19.99 US
May 03, 2022
6-7/10 x 8-9/10
Paperback
208 Pages
Nobrow
Age 14 and up

Bingay!
Celebrate Our LGBTQ+ Icons!
978-1-922417-96-1
This bingo game celebrates our brightest, shiniest LGBTQ+ icons.
$29.95 US
Oct 04, 2022
8-2/3 x 8-2/3
Other Formats
Smith Street Gift

The T Guide
Our Trans Experiences and a Celebration of Gender Expression—Man, Woman, Nonbinary, and Beyond
978-0-7440-7059-0
Real talk about transgender experiences from Gigi Gorgeous and Gottmik
$24.99 US
May 16, 2023
6-11/16 x 8-9/16
Hardcover
208 Pages
DK

Last Night at the Telegraph Club
978-0-525-55527-8
Malinda Lo's bestselling and National Book Award longlisted masterpiece is a gripping story of love and duty set in San Francisco's Chinatown during the 1950s. Now in paperback.
$11.99 US
Dec 28, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
432 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers
Age 14 and up

Pink, Blue, and You!
Questions for Kids about Gender Stereotypes
978-0-593-17863-8
Simple, accessible, and direct, this picture book is perfect for kids and parents or teachers to read together, opening the door to conversations about gender stereotypes and everyone's right to be their true selves. 
$18.99 US
Mar 08, 2022
8 x 10
Hardcover
40 Pages
Anne Schwartz Books
Age 4-8 years

Us
978-1-5067-3418-7
What happens when the life you thought you had does a 180º turn? Everything, and yet…nothing.
$19.99 US
Aug 08, 2023
6-5/8 x 10-3/16
Paperback
144 Pages
Dark Horse Books

Hijab Butch Blues
A Memoir
978-0-593-44876-2
“A masterful, must-read contribution to conversations on power, justice, healing, and devotion from a singular voice I now trust with my whole heart.” —GLENNON DOYLE, author of UntamedA queer hijabi Muslim immigrant survives her coming-of-age by drawing strength and inspiration from stories in the Quran in this daring, provocative, and radically hopeful memoir.
$27.00 US
Feb 07, 2023
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
304 Pages
The Dial Press

Summer Fun
978-1-64129-373-0
From acclaimed author Jeanne Thornton, an epic, singular look at fandom, creativity, longing, and trans identity
$17.00 US
Jun 07, 2022
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
432 Pages
Soho Press

Every Body Looking
978-0-525-55622-0
A National Book Award Finalist novel-in-verse debut in the style of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds, now in paperback.
$11.99 US
Sep 21, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
416 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers
Age 12 and up

This Is Our Rainbow
16 Stories of Her, Him, Them, and Us
978-0-593-30394-8
The first LGBTQIA+ anthology for middle-graders featuring stories for every letter of the acronym, including realistic, fantasy, and sci-fi stories by authors like Justina Ireland, Marieke Nijkamp, Alex Gino, and more!
$17.99 US
Oct 19, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
336 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Age 8-12 years

Be Gay, Do Comics
978-1-68405-777-1
The dream of a queer separatist town. The life of a gay and Jewish Nazi-fighter. A gender reveal party that tears apart reality. These are the just some of the comics you'll find in this massive queer comics anthology from The Nib.
$24.99 US
Sep 01, 2020
7 x 9
Paperback
256 Pages
IDW Publishing

The Pronoun Lowdown
Demystifying and Celebrating Gender Diversity
978-1-925811-80-3
Dismantle the messy myth of gender, with this a colorful, approachable, and irreverent-AF book.
$14.95 US
Mar 02, 2021
6 x 6-2/3
Hardcover
96 Pages
Smith Street Books

Tasty Pride
75 Recipes and Stories from the Queer Food Community
978-0-593-13698-0
From the wildly popular, fiercely inclusive BuzzFeed cooking brand comes 75 innovative recipes and inspiring stories from prominent LGBTQ+ cooks and foodies.
$25.00 US
May 12, 2020
7-3/8 x 9-3/8
Hardcover
224 Pages
Clarkson Potter

Keith Haring
The Story of His Life
978-3-7913-8843-4
Celebrated artist, activist and humanitarian, Keith Haring is the perfect subject for this graphic novel. Focused on three colors, this comic-book tells the fascinating life story of a man who lived his truth on all kinds of canvases.
$24.95 US
Oct 11, 2022
6-3/4 x 9-1/2
Hardcover
128 Pages
Prestel

The New Queer Conscience
978-0-593-09368-9
A 2021 Sydney Taylor Notable Book "The new manifesto for how we as queer people could and should navigate the world. It's the holding hand I never had--but wish I did."--Troye Sivan, Golden Globe nominated-singer, songwriter, and actor"With the persistence of queerphobia all around the world, this book is absolutely necessary, even vital."--Édouard Louis, internationally bestselling author of History of Violence"To Eli's credit, all of the rules are rooted in considerations of conscience and kindness and, if observed, will make abetter world--as will this book."--Booklist, starred review"A must-read that highlights the importance of radical empathy, community building, and solidarity."--School Library Journal, starred reviewIn The New Queer Conscience, LGBTQIA+ activist Adam Eli argues the urgent need for queer responsibility -- that queers anywhere are responsible for queers everywhere.
$8.99 US
Jun 02, 2020
4-3/8 x 6-1/4
Paperback
64 Pages
Penguin Workshop
Age 12 and up

Pride Parade Mad Libs
World's Greatest Word Game
978-0-593-22678-0
Grab your COLOR flag and wave it proudly, because Mad Libs is leading the parade in honor of Pride!
$5.99 US
May 04, 2021
5-1/4 x 8-3/8
Paperback
48 Pages
Mad Libs