Close Modal

What's the Big Deal About Freedom

Illustrated by Matt Faulkner
Look inside
Hardcover
$17.99 US
9.38"W x 11.81"H x 0.33"D   | 15 oz | 24 per carton
On sale May 02, 2017 | 32 Pages | 978-0-399-54728-7
Age 4-8 years | Preschool - 3
Reading Level: Lexile NC1100L | Fountas & Pinnell R
From the Constitution to civil rights, from women's rights to the four freedoms, this kid-friendly picture book filled with fun facts and historical trivia shows how America got the nickname "land of the free."

It’s a “free country”! Why? Because in America we're free speak our minds, choose our leaders and set the rules. Since way back when Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, Americans have stood up for freedom again and again – but it wasn’t always easy!
 
Did you know that Henry “Box” Brown escaped slavery by shipping himself north in a box? Or that Susan B. Anthony was arrested when she tried to vote? Did you know that even young kids protested for the right to go to school?
 
This entertaining, fact-filled book celebrates how, with every generation, more and more Americans won the right to be free.  Find out how they did it and why standing up for the “land of the free” is such a big deal!

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Declaration of Independence, John, Paul, George & Ben, and Shh! We're Writing the Constitution – and a great way to talk about America, its values, and the rights we all enjoy.

Praise for What's the Big Deal About Freedom:

"Bolstering the upbeat tone of the writing while emphasizing the racial and religious diversity of Americans, the lively watercolor-and-pencil illustrations are consistently engaging and occasionally endearing. A hopeful, idealistic portrayal of freedom in America." --Booklist

"An effective place for children to begin learning about the concept of freedom." --School Library Journal
Praise for What's the Big Deal About Freedom:

"Bolstering the upbeat tone of the writing while emphasizing the racial and religious diversity of Americans, the lively watercolor-and-pencil illustrations are consistently engaging and occasionally endearing. A hopeful, idealistic portrayal of freedom in America." --Booklist

"An effective place for children to begin learning about the concept of freedom." --School Library Journal
Matt Faulkner is a first degree black belt, or sho dan, in karate and the author-illustrator of several picture books. View titles by Matt Faulkner
LAND OF THE FREE

You know that feeling you get when you can finally unbuckle your seat belt after a long trip in a cramped car? Or when the bell rings on the last day of school before summer vacation? Or when you see a wide open field that you can run through without worrying about traffic or cars? That’s freedom.

There are lots of ways to be free in America. Here, you’re free to dress the way you want, speak your mind, and choose the people you want to be friends with. There are also freedoms we enjoy all together as a country, like the freedom to decide on the rules and choose who’s in charge.

In a big country with lots of different people, freedom doesn’t mean you can do anything you want all the time. It’s a free country, all right, but you aren’t free to hurt people or steal their stuff or damage things that aren’t yours. That means that the right to freedom comes with certain responsibilities—to take care of each other, treat people fairly, and make sure that everyone else can live in safety and enjoy their freedom too.

When we celebrate freedom in America we usually do it on July 4th—America’s birthday. What happened on that day? How did it shape the future of freedom in America? What’s the big deal about freedom, anyway?

About

From the Constitution to civil rights, from women's rights to the four freedoms, this kid-friendly picture book filled with fun facts and historical trivia shows how America got the nickname "land of the free."

It’s a “free country”! Why? Because in America we're free speak our minds, choose our leaders and set the rules. Since way back when Thomas Jefferson wrote the Declaration of Independence, Americans have stood up for freedom again and again – but it wasn’t always easy!
 
Did you know that Henry “Box” Brown escaped slavery by shipping himself north in a box? Or that Susan B. Anthony was arrested when she tried to vote? Did you know that even young kids protested for the right to go to school?
 
This entertaining, fact-filled book celebrates how, with every generation, more and more Americans won the right to be free.  Find out how they did it and why standing up for the “land of the free” is such a big deal!

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Declaration of Independence, John, Paul, George & Ben, and Shh! We're Writing the Constitution – and a great way to talk about America, its values, and the rights we all enjoy.

Praise for What's the Big Deal About Freedom:

"Bolstering the upbeat tone of the writing while emphasizing the racial and religious diversity of Americans, the lively watercolor-and-pencil illustrations are consistently engaging and occasionally endearing. A hopeful, idealistic portrayal of freedom in America." --Booklist

"An effective place for children to begin learning about the concept of freedom." --School Library Journal

Praise

Praise for What's the Big Deal About Freedom:

"Bolstering the upbeat tone of the writing while emphasizing the racial and religious diversity of Americans, the lively watercolor-and-pencil illustrations are consistently engaging and occasionally endearing. A hopeful, idealistic portrayal of freedom in America." --Booklist

"An effective place for children to begin learning about the concept of freedom." --School Library Journal

Author

Matt Faulkner is a first degree black belt, or sho dan, in karate and the author-illustrator of several picture books. View titles by Matt Faulkner

Excerpt

LAND OF THE FREE

You know that feeling you get when you can finally unbuckle your seat belt after a long trip in a cramped car? Or when the bell rings on the last day of school before summer vacation? Or when you see a wide open field that you can run through without worrying about traffic or cars? That’s freedom.

There are lots of ways to be free in America. Here, you’re free to dress the way you want, speak your mind, and choose the people you want to be friends with. There are also freedoms we enjoy all together as a country, like the freedom to decide on the rules and choose who’s in charge.

In a big country with lots of different people, freedom doesn’t mean you can do anything you want all the time. It’s a free country, all right, but you aren’t free to hurt people or steal their stuff or damage things that aren’t yours. That means that the right to freedom comes with certain responsibilities—to take care of each other, treat people fairly, and make sure that everyone else can live in safety and enjoy their freedom too.

When we celebrate freedom in America we usually do it on July 4th—America’s birthday. What happened on that day? How did it shape the future of freedom in America? What’s the big deal about freedom, anyway?

Books in Bloom

Springtime means warmer weather, a season of renewal, and fresh new books perfect for spring holidays, blooming garden parties, and outdoor adventures! Whether you’re hosting the holidays or looking to flex your green thumb, we have everything you need to gift, garden, and grow this spring. Check out our highlights below to browse our favorite

Read more