Close Modal

What's the Big Deal About First Ladies

Illustrated by Matt Faulkner
Look inside
Hardcover
$17.99 US
9.25"W x 11.75"H x 0.38"D   | 16 oz | 24 per carton
On sale Jan 03, 2017 | 32 Pages | 978-0-399-54724-9
Age 4-8 years | Preschool - 3
Reading Level: Lexile AD1120L | Fountas & Pinnell R
First Ladies are more than just wives of U.S. presidents! This fun, kid-friendly book of trivia and history shows that First Ladies help influence America in ways both large and small.

Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America?  Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn’t let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?
 
It’s true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role-models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House—and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all! 

This book is perfect for fans of So You Want to be President? and Rad American Women from A-Z:Rebels, Trailbalzers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History...And Our Future, and is a great entry point to discussing elections, inaugurations, and all aspects of the White House with children.

Praise for What's the Big Deal About First Ladies:

★ "A breezy way to, as Abigail Adams urged, 'remember the ladies.'" --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This title does an excellent job of highlighting the important roles that these women played throughout history....A delightful introduction to America’s first ladies for elementary U.S. history collections." --School Library Journal 

"Packed with interesting facts and illustrated with style, this upbeat overview of America’s First Ladies will entertain kids intrigued by history." --Booklist 
Praise for What's the Big Deal About First Ladies:

★ "A breezy way to, as Abigail Adams urged, 'remember the ladies.'" --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This title does an excellent job of highlighting the important roles that these women played throughout history....A delightful introduction to America’s first ladies for elementary U.S. history collections." --School Library Journal 

"Packed with interesting facts and illustrated with style, this upbeat overview of America’s First Ladies will entertain kids intrigued by history." --Booklist  
Matt Faulkner is a first degree black belt, or sho dan, in karate and the author-illustrator of several picture books. View titles by Matt Faulkner
WELCOME TO THE WHITE HOUSE

Imagine for a moment that one of your parents became president of the United States. What would your first day in the White House feel like? One “first kid” invited friends over for a massive scavenger hunt. Other first kids ransacked the freezer for ice cream left inside, and some became convinced that the giant mansion was haunted.

One thing is certain: There’d be a lot of changes in store for you and your family. If your dad was elected president, your mom might become the First Lady of the United States, one of the most famous women in the world.

First ladies are a part of the president’s teamright from the start. Nancy Reagan stood by President Reagan’s side when he took the oath of office and Michelle Obama, the first African American first lady, danced with her husband at inaugural balls celebrating his swearing in.

Everyone knows that being president is a major job, but what about being first lady? What’s the big deal about first ladies, anyway?

About

First Ladies are more than just wives of U.S. presidents! This fun, kid-friendly book of trivia and history shows that First Ladies help influence America in ways both large and small.

Did you know that Mary Todd Lincoln hated slavery and helped to end it in America?  Or that Edith Wilson helped decode secret messages during World War I? How about that Sarah Polk didn’t let anyone dance in the White House while she was first lady?
 
It’s true! In addition to being hostesses, advocates, ambassadors, activists, patriots, and role-models, each first lady put her own stamp on the White House—and on our country. In this fun-filled, fact-filled book, you can find out just what made each first lady unique and why they were so important. As it turns out, first ladies are a pretty big deal after all! 

This book is perfect for fans of So You Want to be President? and Rad American Women from A-Z:Rebels, Trailbalzers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History...And Our Future, and is a great entry point to discussing elections, inaugurations, and all aspects of the White House with children.

Praise for What's the Big Deal About First Ladies:

★ "A breezy way to, as Abigail Adams urged, 'remember the ladies.'" --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This title does an excellent job of highlighting the important roles that these women played throughout history....A delightful introduction to America’s first ladies for elementary U.S. history collections." --School Library Journal 

"Packed with interesting facts and illustrated with style, this upbeat overview of America’s First Ladies will entertain kids intrigued by history." --Booklist 

Praise

Praise for What's the Big Deal About First Ladies:

★ "A breezy way to, as Abigail Adams urged, 'remember the ladies.'" --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"This title does an excellent job of highlighting the important roles that these women played throughout history....A delightful introduction to America’s first ladies for elementary U.S. history collections." --School Library Journal 

"Packed with interesting facts and illustrated with style, this upbeat overview of America’s First Ladies will entertain kids intrigued by history." --Booklist  

Author

Matt Faulkner is a first degree black belt, or sho dan, in karate and the author-illustrator of several picture books. View titles by Matt Faulkner

Excerpt

WELCOME TO THE WHITE HOUSE

Imagine for a moment that one of your parents became president of the United States. What would your first day in the White House feel like? One “first kid” invited friends over for a massive scavenger hunt. Other first kids ransacked the freezer for ice cream left inside, and some became convinced that the giant mansion was haunted.

One thing is certain: There’d be a lot of changes in store for you and your family. If your dad was elected president, your mom might become the First Lady of the United States, one of the most famous women in the world.

First ladies are a part of the president’s teamright from the start. Nancy Reagan stood by President Reagan’s side when he took the oath of office and Michelle Obama, the first African American first lady, danced with her husband at inaugural balls celebrating his swearing in.

Everyone knows that being president is a major job, but what about being first lady? What’s the big deal about first ladies, anyway?

Books in Bloom

Springtime means warmer weather, a season of renewal, and fresh new books perfect for spring holidays, blooming garden parties, and outdoor adventures! Whether you’re hosting the holidays or looking to flex your green thumb, we have everything you need to gift, garden, and grow this spring. Check out our highlights below to browse our favorite

Read more