All Ways Black

By Caroline O'Connor | February 3 2022 | AdultsChildren'sGeneralAllBlog

“There are infinite ways to be Black. To be Black and joyful or awestruck. To be Black and to amplify, or to agitate, or to celebrate. They are all important. They are all glorious. And nothing quite captures this truth like literature.

All Ways Black is a community dedicated to Black literature – reading it, sharing it, talking about it, posting about it, living it, loving it. Follow @AllWaysBlack on Instagram to join the conversation, find book recommendations, tune in for live author chats and read-a-thons, and generally vibe out with your fellow readers.” – All Ways Black (follow the link to visit their website)

We kicked off the campaign on Friday with the release of The All Ways Black Cypher 2022!, which celebrates the inspiration that Black authors and books provide to the next generation of readers, storytellers, and creators. The video centers the key themes for #AllWaysBlack in 2022: #BlackLove and #BlackExcellence.

#BlackLove goes beyond adult relationships. Black love is self-love. It’s reaffirming the youth and innocence of Black children, and instilling confidence in them every day.  It’s showing unconditional love for the Black community and recognizing the humanity of Black people.

#BlackExcellence is the acknowledgement and celebration of inspiring individuals who seek to uplift themselves and their communities, despite the many challenges they face in society.

 


 

 The music video, which was produced by @allwaysblack curator Cree Myles and videographer Cody LaPlant (who also directed last summer’s launch video), expands on the subjects and themes explored on the platform and offers a deeper look at the impact that books have on people’s lives.


 

Black Boy Joy
17 Stories Celebrating Black Boyhood
978-0-593-37993-6
Celebrate the joys of Black boyhood with stories from seventeen bestselling, critically acclaimed Black authors--including Jason Reynolds, Jerry Craft, and Kwame Mbalia! "Pick up Black Boy Joy for a heavy dose of happiness."—Booklist, starred review
$16.99 US
Aug 03, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
320 Pages
Delacorte Press
Age 9-12 years

Brave. Black. First.
50+ African American Women Who Changed the World
978-0-525-64581-8
Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture, discover over fifty remarkable African American women whose unique skills and contributions paved the way for the next generation of young people. Perfect for fans of Rad Women Worldwide, Women in Science, and Girls Think of Everything.
$18.99 US
Jan 07, 2020
7-1/2 x 10
Hardcover
128 Pages
Crown Books for Young Readers
Age 8-12 years

Change Sings
A Children's Anthem
978-0-593-20322-4
The instant #1 New York Times bestseller A lyrical picture book debut from presidential inaugural poet Amanda Gorman and #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Loren Long  
$18.99 US
Sep 21, 2021
10 x 11
Hardcover
32 Pages
Viking Books for Young Readers
Age 4-8 years

Harlem Shuffle
A Novel
978-0-385-54513-6
New York Times Book Review 100 Notable Books of 2021 • One of The Washington Posts 50 Notable Works of Fiction of 2021 • One of NPR’s Best Books of the year • TIME Magazine 100 Must Read Books of 2021 • Shelf Awareness Best Books of 2021From two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning author Colson Whitehead, a gloriously entertaining novel of heists, shakedowns, and rip-offs set in Harlem in the 1960s.
$28.95 US
Sep 14, 2021
6-1/8 x 9-1/4
Hardcover
336 Pages
Doubleday

The Vanishing Half
A Novel
978-0-525-53696-3
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERA GOOD MORNING AMERICA Book Club Pick! The #1 New York Times bestseller with over 1 million copies sold, "a story of absolute, universal timelessness" (Entertainment Weekly), now in paperback for the first time.
$18.00 US
Feb 01, 2022
5-1/8 x 8
Paperback
400 Pages
Riverhead Books

Between the World and Me
978-0-8129-9354-7
Instant #1 New York Times bestseller. Because the nation needs it now. A bold investigation into America's racial history and its contemporary echoes from "the single best writer on the subject of race in the United States" (New York Observer), told through the author's own evolving understanding of the subject over the course of his life. "THIS IS REQUIRED READING." --TONI MORRISON
$26.00 US
Jul 14, 2015
4-13/16 x 7-1/4
Hardcover
176 Pages
One World

Passing
978-0-14-312942-4
The powerful, thrilling, and tragic tale about the fluidity of racial identity that continues to resonate today, with an introduction by Emily Bernard. A Penguin Vitae Edition
$24.00 US
Feb 25, 2020
5-1/16 x 7-3/4
Hardcover
160 Pages
Penguin Classics

Beasts of Prey
978-0-593-40568-0
In this blockbuster fantasy series, perfect for fans of Firekeeper’s Daughter and Iron Widow, fate binds two Black teenagers together as they journey into a magical jungle to hunt down a vicious monster.“Rich in magic and mythos, Beasts of Prey is a feast for all the senses.” —Renée Ahdieh, New York Times bestselling author of The BeautifulAn Instant New York Times and Indie Bestseller
$18.99 US
Sep 28, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
496 Pages
G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Age 12 and up

Noor
978-0-7564-1609-6
From Africanfuturist luminary Okorafor comes a new science fiction novel of intense action and thoughtful rumination on biotechnology, destiny, and humanity in a near-future Nigeria.
$27.00 US
Nov 16, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
224 Pages
DAW

Black Futures
978-0-399-18115-3
NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS' CHOICEAn archive of collective memory and exuberant testimonyA luminous map to navigate an opaque and disorienting presentAn infinite geography of possible futures
$25.00 US
Oct 26, 2021
7-3/8 x 9-1/8
Paperback
544 Pages
One World

Sister Outsider
Essays and Speeches
978-1-58091-186-3
Presenting the essential writings of black lesbian poet and feminist writer Audre Lorde, Sister Outsider celebrates an influential voice in twentieth-century literature. “[Lorde's] works will be important to those truly interested in growing up sensitive, intelligent, and aware.”—The New York Times In this charged collection of fifteen essays and speeches, Lorde takes on sexism, racism, ageism, homophobia, and class, and propounds social difference as a vehicle for action and change. Her prose is incisive, unflinching, and lyrical, reflecting struggle but ultimately offering messages of hope. This commemorative edition includes a new foreword by Lorde-scholar and poet Cheryl Clarke, who celebrates the ways in which Lorde's philosophies resonate more than twenty years after they were first published. These landmark writings are, in Lorde's own words, a call to “never close our eyes to the terror, to the chaos which is Black which is creative which is female which is dark which is rejected which is messy which is . . . ”
$16.99 US
Aug 01, 2007
6 x 9
Paperback
192 Pages
Crossing Press

Black Food
Stories, Art, and Recipes from Across the African Diaspora [A Cookbook]
978-1-9848-5972-3
A beautiful, rich, and groundbreaking book exploring Black foodways within America and around the world, curated by food activist and author of Vegetable Kingdom Bryant Terry.
$40.00 US
Oct 19, 2021
7-1/2 x 9-1/2
Hardcover
320 Pages
4 Color Books

Rodney Scott's World of BBQ
Every Day Is a Good Day: A Cookbook
978-1-9848-2693-0
In the first cookbook by a Black pitmaster, James Beard Award-winning chef Rodney Scott celebrates an incredible culinary legacy through his life story, family traditions, and unmatched dedication to his craft.
$29.99 US
Mar 16, 2021
8 x 10
Hardcover
224 Pages
Clarkson Potter

A Promised Land
978-1-5247-6316-9
A riveting, deeply personal account of history in the making--from the president who inspired us to believe in the power of democracy
$45.00 US
Nov 17, 2020
6-1/8 x 9-1/4
Hardcover
768 Pages
Crown

Will
978-1-9848-7792-5
One of the most dynamic and globally recognized entertainment forces of our time opens up fully about his life, in a brave and inspiring book that traces his learning curve to a place where outer success, inner happiness, and human connection are aligned. Along the way, Will tells the story in full of one of the most amazing rides through the worlds of music and film that anyone has ever had.
$30.00 US
Nov 09, 2021
6-1/8 x 9-1/4
Hardcover
432 Pages
Penguin Press

Please Don't Sit on My Bed in Your Outside Clothes
Essays
978-0-593-18490-5
New York Times bestselling author, comedian, actress, and producer Phoebe Robinson is back with a new essay collection that is equal parts thoughtful, hilarious, and sharp about human connection, race, hair, travel, dating, Black excellence, and more. 
$27.00 US
Sep 28, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
352 Pages
Tiny Reparations Books

Black Girl, Call Home
978-0-593-19714-1
A literary coming-of-age poetry collection, an ode to the places we call home, and a piercingly intimate deconstruction of daughterhood, Black Girl, Call Home is a love letter to the wandering black girl and a vital companion to any woman on a journey to find truth, belonging, and healing.
$15.00 US
Mar 09, 2021
5-1/16 x 7-3/4
Paperback
256 Pages
Berkley

Call Us What We Carry
Poems
978-0-593-46506-6
The instant #1 New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestsellerThe breakout poetry collection by #1 New York Times bestselling author and presidential inaugural poet Amanda Gorman
$24.99 US
Dec 07, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
240 Pages
Viking Books

Letters to a Young Athlete
978-1-9848-8178-6
A legendary NBA player shares his remarkable story, infused with hard-earned wisdom about the journey to self-mastery from a life at the highest level of professional sports
$26.00 US
Jun 01, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
256 Pages
Penguin Press

The How
Notes on the Great Work of Meeting Yourself
978-0-14-313560-9
From the acclaimed poet behind bone, an exploration of how we can meet our truest selves, the ones we've always been meant to become
$17.00 US
Nov 02, 2021
5-1/2 x 7-1/2
Paperback
192 Pages
Penguin Books

Fierce Love
A Bold Path to Ferocious Courage and Rule-Breaking Kindness That Can Heal the World
978-0-593-23386-3
A healing antidote to our divisive culture, full of evocative storytelling, spiritual wisdom, and nine essential daily practices—by the first female, Black senior minister at the historic Collegiate Churches of New York
$27.00 US
Nov 09, 2021
6-1/8 x 9-1/8
Hardcover
224 Pages
Harmony

The 1619 Project
A New Origin Story
978-0-593-23057-2
A dramatic expansion of one of the definitive journalistic events ofrecent years: The 1619 Project, The New York Times Magazine'saward-winning reframing of the American founding and itscontemporary echoes, placing slavery and resistance at the center of the American story.
$38.00 US
Nov 16, 2021
6-1/8 x 9-1/8
Hardcover
624 Pages
One World

The Warmth of Other Suns
The Epic Story of America's Great Migration
978-0-679-76388-8
In the tradition of works by Nicolas Lemann and J. Anthony Lukas, this magnificent epic by Isabel Wilkerson chronicles a watershed event in American history--the decades-long migration of African-Americans from the South to the North and West, from World War I through the 1970s--through the stories of three individuals and their families. An NBCC Award finalist.
$18.95 US
Oct 04, 2011
6-1/8 x 9-1/4
Paperback
640 Pages
Vintage