Our Favorite Halloween BOOks!

By Mallory Gong | August 13 2021 | AllblogChildren'sGift

As we move into autumn, the one thing on every child’s mind is Halloween! We have the perfect titles for you and your kid to welcome in the spooky season. From books about carving pumpkins, friendly monsters, and haunted houses, there’s something for every child to combat the creepy chills.

Though traditional Halloween participation like trick-or-treating has decreased in 2020, parents have found creative ways to celebrate the holiday safely. Whether you’re planning on accessorizing your child’s costume with a mask or trick-or-treating in your own home, wind down with one of our Halloween books!


We’ve picked some of our favorite scary stories, but check out our full title lists below:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

The Little Ghost Who Lost Her Boo!
978-0-593-20215-9
Perfect for Halloween! The New York Times bestselling read-aloud about a little ghost who goes on a nighttime hunt to find her lost "boo!". Perfect for fans of Five Little Pumpkins, Room on a Broom, and How to Catch a Monster!
$17.99 US
Aug 18, 2020
8-1/2 x 10-1/2
Hardcover
32 Pages
Philomel Books
Age 4-8 years
Preschool - 3

Gustavo, the Shy Ghost
978-1-5362-1114-6
A #1 New York Times bestseller!This winning debut picture book from Mexican artist Flavia Z. Drago about finding the courage to make friends is perfect for the spooky season — or anytime.Gustavo is good at doing all sorts of ghostly things: walking through walls, making objects fly, and glowing in the dark. And he loves almost nothing more than playing beautiful music on his violin. But Gustavo is shy, and some things are harder for him to do, like getting in a line to buy eye scream or making friends with other monsters. Whenever he tries getting close to them, he realizes they just can’t see him. Now that the Day of the Dead is fast approaching, what can he do to make them notice him and to share with them something he loves? With fancifully detailed artwork and visual humor, debut picture-book creator Flavia Z. Drago’s vivid illustrations tell a sweet and gently offbeat story of loneliness, bravery, and friendship that is sure to be a treat for little ghouls and goblins everywhere.
$16.99 US
Jul 14, 2020
9-3/4 x 11-5/16
Hardcover
40 Pages
Candlewick
Age 3-7 years
Preschool - 2

The Little Ghost Who Was a Quilt
978-0-7352-6447-2
When you're a quilt instead of a sheet, being a ghost is hard! An adorable picture book for fans of Stumpkin and How to Make Friends with a Ghost.
$17.99 US
Sep 01, 2020
8-1/4 x 11
Hardcover
48 Pages
Tundra Books
Age 3-7 years
Preschool - 2

Pop-Up Peekaboo! Pumpkin
Pop-Up Surprise Under Every Flap!
DK
978-1-4654-5276-4
A Halloween pop-up book with flaps and friendly pop-up surprises to engage toddlers and help them join in the holiday fun through hands-on learning.
$9.99 US
Aug 01, 2017
8-1/4 x 8-1/4
Board Book
12 Pages
DK Children
Age 0-3 years
Up to Preschool

Sir Simon: Super Scarer
978-1-101-91909-5
A delightful, funny story of friendship, ghost chores, a spooky house and a professional haunter.
$17.99 US
Sep 04, 2018
10 x 9
Hardcover
48 Pages
Tundra Books
Age 4-8 years
Preschool - 3

Baby Touch and Feel: Halloween
DK
978-1-4654-6235-0
Little ones can see and touch pumpkins, cats, candy corn, and other Halloween favorites in Baby Touch & Feel: Halloween, a hands-on learning experience that develops fine motor skills.
$7.99 US
Aug 01, 2017
5-1/8 x 5-1/8
Board Book
14 Pages
DK Children
Age 0-2 years
Up to Preschool

Dr. Seuss's Spooky Things
978-1-9848-5097-3
A Halloween board book featuring Thing One and Thing Two from Dr. Seuss's The Cat in the Hat!
$8.99 US
Jul 23, 2019
7 x 8
Board Book
26 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 0-3 years
Up to Preschool

Open the Witch's Door
A Halloween Lift-the-Flap Book
978-0-593-37333-0
Open the witch's door and lift the flaps to find magic potions, a book of spells, a yummy brew, and other fun surprises with this latest entry in the board book series that started with Open the Barn Door!
$6.99 US
Jul 13, 2021
6 x 6
Board Book
22 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 0-3 years
Up to Preschool

Ham Helsing #1: Vampire Hunter
978-0-593-30891-2
Halloween is here and the monster hunt is on! A rip-roaring graphic novel adventure about the latest in a famous family of vampire-hunting pigs, inspired by legendary monster slayer Van Helsing!
$12.99 US
Jun 01, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
240 Pages
Crown Books for Young Readers
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7

Owl Has a Halloween Party
A Tiny Tab Book
978-1-5362-1734-6
It’s Halloween, and Owl has planned the perfect party. But when will his guests arrive? Little readers will love pulling the tabs to find out who is coming to the party and what their costumes are!
$8.99 US
Jul 02, 2021
7-1/2 x 7-1/2
Board Book
8 Pages
Nosy Crow
Age 0-3 years
Up to Preschool

Halloween is Sweet (The Berenstain Bears)
978-0-593-17610-8
Celebrate Halloween with this festive Berenstain Bears board book!
$6.99 US
Jul 14, 2020
6 x 6-5/8
Board Book
22 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 0-3 years
Up to Preschool

Halloween Heroes! (Paw Patrol)
978-1-5247-6622-1
Nickelodeon's PAW Patrol has a Halloween adventure in this sturdy board book.
$6.99 US
Jul 18, 2017
6 x 6-5/8
Board Book
22 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 0-3 years
Up to Preschool

Peppa's Happy Halloween! (Peppa Pig)
978-0-593-11846-7
Celebrate Halloween with Peppa Pig coloring fun!
$5.99 US
Jul 02, 2019
7-7/8 x 10-7/8
Paperback
48 Pages
Golden Books
Age 3-7 years
Preschool - 2

Halloween ABC
978-0-7636-9527-9
"An abecedary of spooky or autumnal delights for the littlest readers." — Kirkus ReviewsThis sturdy alphabet board book introduces simple seasonal words to get toddlers excited about Halloween. Along with letters to say out loud, there are bright pictures featuring lots of happy faces and familiar spooky details to spot.
$6.99 US
Jul 18, 2017
6-11/16 x 6-11/16
Board Book
26 Pages
Nosy Crow
Age 0-3 years
Up to Preschool

Junie B. Jones #24: BOO...and I MEAN It!
978-0-375-82807-2
Barbara Park's beloved, New York Times Bestselling Junie B. Jones series gets a fresh new look with this bright, bold repackage!
$4.99 US
Aug 23, 2005
5-3/16 x 7-5/8
Paperback
96 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 6-9 years
Grades 1-4

Pumpkins
978-0-8234-4356-7
Autumn's favorite vegetable takes the spotlight in this bright board book!
$7.99 US
Sep 03, 2019
6-3/4 x 6
Board Book
22 Pages
Holiday House
Age 0-2 years
Up to Preschool

How to Scare a Ghost
978-1-5247-0190-1
From the creators of the New York Times bestsellers How to Catch Santa and How to Babysit a Grandpa comes a silly (and not-too-spooky) send-up of Halloween...and ghosts!
$17.99 US
Aug 21, 2018
8-1/2 x 11
Hardcover
32 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Age 4-8 years
Preschool - 3

How to Make Friends with a Ghost
978-1-101-91901-9
Ghosts make great friends for life (and beyond)! If you're lucky enough to have a ghost find you, you'll need to know how to treat it right. Open up this "how-to" guide to discover how to be the best friend a ghost could ever ask for!
$17.99 US
Sep 05, 2017
9 x 9
Hardcover
48 Pages
Tundra Books
Age 4-8 years
Preschool - 3

Look! It's the Candycorn
978-0-593-30117-3
Unicorns love to trick-or-treat, too! The magical unicorn in this die-cut board book has a candy-corn horn that's just perfect for Halloween! Don't miss this companion to I Love My Llamacorn and all the other unicorn mash-ups!
$9.99 US
Jul 14, 2020
5-7/8 x 9
Board Book
18 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 0-3 years
Up to Preschool

Trick or Trolls (DreamWorks Trolls)
978-0-593-12781-0
The characters from DreamWorks Trolls celebrate Halloween in a brand-new board book with flaps!
$7.99 US
Jul 07, 2020
8 x 8
Board Book
12 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 0-3 years
Up to Preschool

Boo!
978-1-68010-501-8
Join Pumpkin in this fun game as he tries to figure out who said BOO! Was it Night Owl, Black Cat, Little Witch, Spider, or Wizard? Concentric circles, bright artwork, finger-holes, and a cheerful rhyming story make learning come alive add to the Halloween fun!
$7.99 US
Sep 01, 2015
7-1/2 x 7-1/2
Board Book
16 Pages
Tiger Tales
Age 2-5 years
Up to Kindergarten

Mercy Watson: Princess in Disguise
978-0-7636-4951-7
"Halloween was made for carefree Mercy Watson." — School Library JournalWhen the Watsons decide to zip their porcine wonder into a formfitting princess dress for Halloween — complete with tiara — they are certain that Mercy will be beautiful beyond compare. Mercy is equally certain she likes the sound of trick-or-treating and can picture piles of buttered toast already. As for the Lincoln Sisters next door, how could they know that their cat would lead them all on a Halloween "parade" of hysterical proportions? Kate DiCamillo’s beguiling pig is back in a tale full of treats, tricky turns, hijinks, and high humor.
$6.99 US
Jun 04, 2010
6-3/8 x 8-3/16
Paperback
80 Pages
Candlewick
Age 6-9 years
Grades 1-4

Five Black Cats
978-1-58925-239-4
Five black cats in the moonlight meet spooky new friends on Halloween night! Follow the five brave, black cats as they go on a ghostly rhyming adventure!
$6.99 US
Sep 06, 2016
7-1/2 x 7-1/2
Board Book
22 Pages
Tiger Tales
Age 2-5 years
Up to Kindergarten