Celebrate Women’s History Month!

By Caroline O'Connor | March 4 2021 | AdultsAllblogGeneral

Grab a book, watch a movie, listen to a new podcast, however you decide to learn more, find a way to honor the role of women in history and celebrate their stories and accomplishments!

 

Check out or title selections below!

Adult list

Children’s list

Penguin Young Readers Women’s History Month

Women’s Empowerment


 

Who Is Kamala Harris?
978-0-593-38448-0
The inspiring story of Vice President Kamala Harris told in the new Who HQ Now format for trending topics.
$4.99 US
Jan 19, 2021
5-5/16 x 7-5/8
Paperback
56 Pages
Penguin Workshop
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7

Who Is Jane Goodall?: A Who Was? Board Book
978-0-593-22342-0
The latest addition to the Who HQ program: board book biographies of relevant and important figures, created specifically for the preschool audience!
$7.99 US
Mar 30, 2021
7 x 7
Board Book
24 Pages
Rise x Penguin Workshop
Age 2-4 years
Up to Preschool

She Persisted: Sonia Sotomayor
978-0-593-11601-2
Inspired by the #1 New York Times bestseller She Persisted by Chelsea Clinton and Alexandra Boiger comes a chapter book series about women who stood up, spoke up and rose up against the odds!
$14.99 US
Jun 01, 2021
5-5/16 x 7-5/8
Hardcover
80 Pages
Philomel Books
Age 6-9 years
Grades 1-4

Concrete Kids
978-0-593-09519-5
Pocket Change Collective was born out of a need for space. Space to think. Space to connect. Space to be yourself. And this is your invitation to join us. "I will close my eyes and disappear into the pages of this book for many years to come."--Hanif Abdurraqib (New York Times bestselling author of Go Ahead in The Rain: Notes to A Tribe Called Quest) "Amyra's wondrous awe for life in all its terror and splendor is inspiring to witness."--Rosario Dawson (award-winning actor, singer, and activist) "A moving, inspiring love letter to and about 'the concrete kids. The kids with a melanin kiss.'"-- Kirkus Reviews "Leon's powerful book will embolden readers find their own ways of speaking out against injustice." -- Booklist, Starred Review "A raw and complex free verse exploration of self-love, Blackness, womanhood, and healing. A timely, essential ­purchase for all young adult collections." -- School Library Journal, Starred Review In Concrete Kids, playwright, musician, and educator Amyra León uses free verse to challenge us to dream beyond our circumstances -- and sometimes even despite them.
$8.99 US
Oct 13, 2020
4-3/8 x 6-1/4
Paperback
96 Pages
Penguin Workshop
Age 12 and up
Grade 7 & Up

Bold & Brave
Ten Heroes Who Won Women the Right to Vote
978-0-593-30266-8
The perfect read for the one-hundredth anniversary of the nineteenth amendment and in advance of the upcoming presidential election, this inspiring picture book from United States Senator Kirsten Gillibrand shares the stories of ten suffragists who fought for women's right to vote
$7.99 US
Jun 02, 2020
8-1/2 x 11
Paperback
40 Pages
Dragonfly Books
Age 6-9 years
Grades 1-4

Be More RBG
Speak Truth and Dissent with Supreme Style
978-1-4654-9218-0
The perfect, satirical find for those who dare to dissent, fight for what they believe in, and change the world for the better--one lace collar at a time.Let the "notorious RBG" teach you to find your work-life balance, stand up for your rights, dissent like a woman, and boss it on or off the bench. If you're ready to live life like the queen of the Supreme Court, tie your hair in a scrunchie, pop on those oversized glasses, and find out how to Be More RBG.Whether you feel like your dream career is a million miles away, you're struggling with your gym routine, or you want to change the world, but don't know how to start, ask yourself: What would RBG do? Then find the answers in Be More RBG, which is full of witty and wise quotes from Associate Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg and tongue-in-cheek advice for every situation.
$9.99 US
Oct 15, 2019
5-1/16 x 7
Hardcover
64 Pages
DK
Age

Professional Troublemaker
The Fear-Fighter Manual
978-1-9848-8190-8
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER   From the New York Times bestselling author of I'm Judging You, a hilarious and transformational book about how to tackle fear--that everlasting hater--and audaciously step into lives, careers, and legacies that go beyond even our wildest dreams
$26.00 US
Mar 02, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
304 Pages
Penguin Life
Age

Becoming: Adapted for Young Readers
978-0-593-30374-0
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Michelle Obama’s worldwide bestselling memoir, Becoming, is now adapted for young readers.
$18.99 US
Mar 02, 2021
6-1/8 x 9-1/8
Hardcover
432 Pages
Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Age 10 and up
Grade 5 & Up

Can We All Be Feminists?
New Writing from Brit Bennett, Nicole Dennis-Benn, and 15 Others on Intersectionality, Identity, and the Way Forward for Feminism
978-0-14-313237-0
"As timely as it is well-written, this clear-eyed collection is just what I need right now." --Jacqueline Woodson, author of Brown Girl Dreaming "The intersectional feminist anthology we all need to read" (Bustle), edited by a feminist activist and writer who "calls to mind a young Audre Lorde" (Kirkus)
$16.00 US
Sep 25, 2018
5-1/16 x 7-3/4
Paperback
288 Pages
Penguin Books
Age

Citizen Woman
An Illustrated History of the Women's Movement
978-3-7913-8530-3
The first illustrated history to celebrate women's struggle for equality around the globe.
$40.00 US
Mar 23, 2020
8-1/2 x 10-1/4
Hardcover
256 Pages
Prestel
Age

First Ladies of the United States
978-1-58834-694-0
A gorgeous publication that reveals the historical importance of first ladies through portraiture.
$19.95 US
Dec 01, 2020
7 x 9
Paperback
180 Pages
Smithsonian Books
Age

Frida A to Z
The Life of an Icon From Activism to Zapotec
978-1-925811-47-6
An illustrated A to Z celebrating the unparalleled impact of the artistic phenomenon that is Frida Kahlo.
$14.95 US
Mar 17, 2020
7-7/8 x 9-3/8
Hardcover
56 Pages
Smith Street Books
Age

Hood Feminism
Notes from the Women That a Movement Forgot
978-0-525-56056-2
A New York Times Bestseller A Washington Post Notable Nonfiction Book of 2020 A potent and electrifying critique of today's feminist movement announcing a fresh new voice in black feminism "My wish is that every white woman who calls herself a feminist (as I do) will read this book in a state of hushed and humble respect." --Elizabeth Gilbert
$16.00 US
Feb 23, 2021
5-1/16 x 7-3/4
Paperback
288 Pages
Penguin Books
Age

Modern HERstory
Stories of Women and Nonbinary People Rewriting History
978-0-399-58223-3
An inspiring and radical celebration of 70 women, girls, and gender nonbinary people who have changed--and are still changing--the world, from the Civil Rights Movement and Stonewall riots through Black Lives Matter and beyond.
$17.99 US
Oct 16, 2018
8 x 8
Hardcover
208 Pages
Ten Speed Press
Age

Women Artists A to Z
978-0-593-10872-7
An empowering and educational alphabet picture book about women artists, perfect for fans of Rad American Women A-Z.
$19.99 US
Feb 11, 2020
8 x 10
Hardcover
64 Pages
Dial Books
Age 3-7 years
Preschool - 2

Not Playing by the Rules: 21 Female Athletes Who Changed Sports
978-1-5247-6453-1
This powerful and inspiring collection features 21 female trailblazers in their sport, perfect for fans of Women in Sports and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls!
$18.99 US
Apr 21, 2020
8 x 10
Hardcover
48 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7

Noisemakers
25 Women Who Raised Their Voices & Changed the World - A Graphic Collection from Kazoo
978-0-525-58018-8
"Thoughtful, timely and Super-Engaging. So glad the powerhouse young people coming up have Kazoo as a blueprint, a roadmap, and a glimpse into history." -Jacqueline Woodson "Astonishing comics about world-changing women. What could possibly be better?"--Neil Gaiman "All the women in this book were discouraged from doing the work they were born to do. Fortunately, they didn't let that stop them. Here are their riveting stories, told in unputdownable comics. I wish I'd had NOISEMAKERS when I was growing up." -Alison Bechdel From the creators of Kazoo magazine, a quarterly magazine for girls ages 5-12, which Amy Poehler's Smart Girls called "required reading," comes a graphic novel anthology of women who are not afraid to make some noise!
$17.99 US
Feb 04, 2020
7 x 9
Paperback
224 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7

I Look Up To...Misty Copeland
978-1-9848-5214-4
If you can see it, you can be it! Introduce your child to powerful feminist role models with this series of inspirational board books.
$7.99 US
Nov 05, 2019
7 x 7
Board Book
22 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 0-3 years
Up to Preschool

We Should All Be Feminists
978-1-101-91176-1
Available for the first time in paperback, a passionate, clever, and spirited argument for gender equality, from the bestselling author of Americanah and Half of a Yellow Sun. An Anchor Original.
$8.95 US
Feb 03, 2015
4-3/8 x 6-1/4
Paperback
64 Pages
Anchor
Age

Women in Art Puzzle
Fearless Creatives Who Inspired the World 500-Piece Jigsaw Puzzle and Poster: Jigsaw Puzzles for Adults and Jigsaw Puzzles for Kids
978-0-593-23301-6
A vivid 500-piece jigsaw puzzle featuring portraits of fifteen diverse, pioneering female artists by the New York Times bestselling author and illustrator of Women in Science.
$16.99 US
Nov 03, 2020
9-3/4 x 7-3/4
Game
500 Pages
Clarkson Potter
Age