Close Modal

How to Draw a Happy Cat

Illustrated by Jimbo Matison
Look inside
Hardcover
$18.99 US
11.44"W x 9"H x 0.4"D   | 17 oz | 24 per carton
On sale Oct 04, 2022 | 40 Pages | 9781662640049
Age 4-8 years | Preschool - 3
Reading Level: Lexile AD480L | Fountas & Pinnell K
A "How to Draw" lesson spins hilariously out of control when Cat just won't stay happy! This relatable madcap read-aloud is immense fun, and perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos.

Drawing a happy cat seems like such an easy thing to do. Just follow the instructions in this book! Wait a minute . . . why doesn't Cat look happy? We gave her a stuffy and a cool t-shirt! Uh-oh! Turns out drawing a happy cat is harder than it looks. Now it's the reader's job to find out why Cat isn't staying happy AND draw everything she wants! (That might include skateboards, friends, and yes--even a pizza-flinging catapult.) This clever, often tender, laugh-out-loud picture book breaks the fourth wall in charming ways; will have kids asking for repeat reads; and will definitely have parents nodding knowingly at the escalating cycle of demands. Can you draw a happy cat?
Pennsylvania Young Readers' Choice Award Master List

“What you’d get if you combined Ed Emberley with If You Give A Mouse A Cookie….. The cat...is adorable, and I find the idea of a How To Draw book that’s ideal for reading aloud to be a very fascinating notion. Keep this one on your radar.” - Betsy Bird, A Fuse #8 Production, School Library Journal

“Fun, exuberant …. A satisfying mission to find happiness and fun; mission accomplished.” - Kirkus Reviews

A BEST BOOK OF 2022: "This book begs to be read aloud as the narrator involves the listener and this will surely bring chuckles throughout." - Meridian magazine

"This book blends beginner “how to draw” instruction with a manic mash-up of Dav Pilkey’s “How 2 Draw” Dog Man ­segments and Laura Numeroff’s “If You Give a” series....has all the makings of a story hour project that will have kids cracking up and chaos ensuing. Give it a try." - Chance Lee Joyner, School Library Journal

"Love the narrator engaging the reader to try to help cheer up the cat! So fun to read aloud!" - Reading Power Gear

"This imaginative, creative, read-out-loud picture book is hilarious. Kids will love the fun vibe and parents will know the book is a winner after it is requested to be read again and again. The illustrations are fantastic and there are ample opportunities for interaction as kids are instructed how to draw different objects that may make an unhappy kitty contented. The author leaves a pathway for a sequel at the end of the book with the statement: "But now Chicken is sad." Bring it on...kid's will love to hear more I'm sure!” Marilyn Panton, Storywraps

"If you're looking for a fun drawing book, this is it!…. absolutely perfect for K-2 and would be so much fun to use as part of a drawing lesson…..will surely appeal to kids of all ages.” — Barbara Leyne, Grade Onederful

"What a silly, fun and educational book. I simply adore how the author and illustrator built in simple drawing lessons into a story about friends, fun and of a course a pizza catapult!! This book is sure to keep kids from about 4 - 10 ( likely moms & dads too!!) busy for hours. And do I smell a sequel? How to Draw a Happy Chicken? YES please!!” — Kelly Baquerizo, reviewer
Ethan T. Berlin is an Emmy Award-nominated television comedy writer and a Junior Library Guild selected picture-book author. His numerous picture books have been called“hilarious,” and “giggleworthy” by Kirkus Reviews and “recommended for all libraries” by the School Library Journal. Ethan plays the robot  L.I.S.A on The Big Fib, a popular children’s podcast that was adapted into a Disney+ TV show and is regularly recommended by The New York Times and The Washington Post. Ethan’s TV credits include Billy On the Street, Totally Biased with W. Kamau Bell, and IFC’s Bunk, an absurd comedy game show that he co-created with his best friend from high school. When he’s not writing his own funny stuff, Ethan teaches comedy writing at NYU and Stony Brook University. View titles by Ethan T. Berlin
Jimbo Matison is an unstoppable creative machine who has written, directed, designed, and produced comedy shows, TV commercials, and video content on a variety of creative projects for everyone from Netflix, Dreamworks TV and Nickelodeon to Starbucks and Coke. He's always on the move and just a lot of fun. He has published two children's books, one other fun picture book. View titles by Jimbo Matison

Silly Storytime with Hippo Park - How to Draw a Happy Cat Read Aloud

Part 1 - How to Draw a Happy Cat - Drawing Tutorial for Kids with Jimbo Matison and Captain Pony

book trailer

Part 3 - How to Draw a Happy Cat - Drawing Tutorial for Kids with Jimbo Matison and Captain Pony

Part 2 - How to Draw a Happy Cat - Drawing Tutorial for Kids with Jimbo Matison and Captain Pony

Part 4 - How to Draw a Happy Cat - Drawing Tutorial for Kids with Jimbo Matison and Captain Pony

About

A "How to Draw" lesson spins hilariously out of control when Cat just won't stay happy! This relatable madcap read-aloud is immense fun, and perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos.

Drawing a happy cat seems like such an easy thing to do. Just follow the instructions in this book! Wait a minute . . . why doesn't Cat look happy? We gave her a stuffy and a cool t-shirt! Uh-oh! Turns out drawing a happy cat is harder than it looks. Now it's the reader's job to find out why Cat isn't staying happy AND draw everything she wants! (That might include skateboards, friends, and yes--even a pizza-flinging catapult.) This clever, often tender, laugh-out-loud picture book breaks the fourth wall in charming ways; will have kids asking for repeat reads; and will definitely have parents nodding knowingly at the escalating cycle of demands. Can you draw a happy cat?

Praise

Pennsylvania Young Readers' Choice Award Master List

“What you’d get if you combined Ed Emberley with If You Give A Mouse A Cookie….. The cat...is adorable, and I find the idea of a How To Draw book that’s ideal for reading aloud to be a very fascinating notion. Keep this one on your radar.” - Betsy Bird, A Fuse #8 Production, School Library Journal

“Fun, exuberant …. A satisfying mission to find happiness and fun; mission accomplished.” - Kirkus Reviews

A BEST BOOK OF 2022: "This book begs to be read aloud as the narrator involves the listener and this will surely bring chuckles throughout." - Meridian magazine

"This book blends beginner “how to draw” instruction with a manic mash-up of Dav Pilkey’s “How 2 Draw” Dog Man ­segments and Laura Numeroff’s “If You Give a” series....has all the makings of a story hour project that will have kids cracking up and chaos ensuing. Give it a try." - Chance Lee Joyner, School Library Journal

"Love the narrator engaging the reader to try to help cheer up the cat! So fun to read aloud!" - Reading Power Gear

"This imaginative, creative, read-out-loud picture book is hilarious. Kids will love the fun vibe and parents will know the book is a winner after it is requested to be read again and again. The illustrations are fantastic and there are ample opportunities for interaction as kids are instructed how to draw different objects that may make an unhappy kitty contented. The author leaves a pathway for a sequel at the end of the book with the statement: "But now Chicken is sad." Bring it on...kid's will love to hear more I'm sure!” Marilyn Panton, Storywraps

"If you're looking for a fun drawing book, this is it!…. absolutely perfect for K-2 and would be so much fun to use as part of a drawing lesson…..will surely appeal to kids of all ages.” — Barbara Leyne, Grade Onederful

"What a silly, fun and educational book. I simply adore how the author and illustrator built in simple drawing lessons into a story about friends, fun and of a course a pizza catapult!! This book is sure to keep kids from about 4 - 10 ( likely moms & dads too!!) busy for hours. And do I smell a sequel? How to Draw a Happy Chicken? YES please!!” — Kelly Baquerizo, reviewer

Author

Ethan T. Berlin is an Emmy Award-nominated television comedy writer and a Junior Library Guild selected picture-book author. His numerous picture books have been called“hilarious,” and “giggleworthy” by Kirkus Reviews and “recommended for all libraries” by the School Library Journal. Ethan plays the robot  L.I.S.A on The Big Fib, a popular children’s podcast that was adapted into a Disney+ TV show and is regularly recommended by The New York Times and The Washington Post. Ethan’s TV credits include Billy On the Street, Totally Biased with W. Kamau Bell, and IFC’s Bunk, an absurd comedy game show that he co-created with his best friend from high school. When he’s not writing his own funny stuff, Ethan teaches comedy writing at NYU and Stony Brook University. View titles by Ethan T. Berlin
Jimbo Matison is an unstoppable creative machine who has written, directed, designed, and produced comedy shows, TV commercials, and video content on a variety of creative projects for everyone from Netflix, Dreamworks TV and Nickelodeon to Starbucks and Coke. He's always on the move and just a lot of fun. He has published two children's books, one other fun picture book. View titles by Jimbo Matison

Media

Silly Storytime with Hippo Park - How to Draw a Happy Cat Read Aloud

Part 1 - How to Draw a Happy Cat - Drawing Tutorial for Kids with Jimbo Matison and Captain Pony

book trailer

Part 3 - How to Draw a Happy Cat - Drawing Tutorial for Kids with Jimbo Matison and Captain Pony

Part 2 - How to Draw a Happy Cat - Drawing Tutorial for Kids with Jimbo Matison and Captain Pony

Part 4 - How to Draw a Happy Cat - Drawing Tutorial for Kids with Jimbo Matison and Captain Pony