Books for a Pink Pony Girl Summer

By Kat La Mantia | June 24 2024 | AdultsChildren'sGeneralAllGiftPop CultureBlog

“I’m gonna keep on dancing at the Pink Pony Club”

With The Rise and Fall of a Midwest Princess climbing the charts, iconic performances on NPR’s Tiny Desk and Jimmy Fallon, and music festivals dominated by seas of fans decked out in pink cowboy hats all doing the “Hot to Go” dance in tandem, the summer of 2024 is undoubtedly the summer of Chappell Roan. She’s your favorite artist’s favorite artist, the pink pony girl herself, and she is the moment.

With high-energy, drag-inspired performances combined with infectious pop hooks and powerhouse vocals, Chappell Roan has taken the music world by storm. She’s a staple on any summer playlist, but that doesn’t mean you can’t bring some of those pink pony vibes to your bookshelf, too! If you want to add a little Chappell-inspired flavor to your TBR list, check out some of our favorite picks that fit the theme, including books celebrating legendary drag artists, cowboy themed titles, queer sapphic romances, Midwestern authors, and of course bright pink covers to tie it all together!

Explore More Books for a Pink Pony Girl Summer
All Things Pink

Trick Pony
9781506737218
From the GLAAD Media Award-nominated writer of the bestselling queer historical graphic novel LIEBESTRASSE comes this LGBTQA+ fantasy tale of a washed-up rodeo star heading home to visit his father in the hospital. While on the road he confronts the mistakes of his past and the monsters of his present.
$22.99 US
Jun 18, 2024
6-5/8 x 10-3/16
Paperback
128 Pages
Dark Horse Books

Category Is: Cocktails!
Mixed Drinks Inspired by Legendary Drag Performers
9783791389806
Slip on your best heels, beat your face for the gods, and get ready to toast sixty iconic drag queens, kings, and nonbinary performers with cocktails and zero-proof drinks made in their honor.
$16.99 US
Mar 26, 2024
6 x 7-1/3
Hardcover
144 Pages
Prestel

Behind the Seams
My Life in Rhinestones
9781984862129
A beautiful celebration of Dolly Parton’s iconic sense of style with entertaining personal stories and 450 full-color photographs, including exclusive images from her private costume archive
$50.00 US
Oct 17, 2023
9 x 12
Hardcover
336 Pages
Ten Speed Press

A Guide to Midwestern Conversation
9781984861337
Learn (and love) the language of the landlocked in this bitingly funny illustrated guide to the common phrases and sentiments of the American Heartland, from the author of the McSweeney’s series “A Guide to Midwestern Conversation.”
$16.99 US
Apr 11, 2023
6 x 8
Hardcover
144 Pages
Ten Speed Press

Burn After Writing (Cowgirl)
9780593543016
The national bestseller.Write. Burn. Repeat. Now with new covers to match whatever mood you’re in."This book has made me laugh and cry, filled me with joy, and inspired me."-TikTok user camrynbanks
$14.00 US
Oct 04, 2022
5-5/16 x 8
Paperback
160 Pages
TarcherPerigee

Every Time You Hear That Song
9780593623398
"Beautifully explores the high and low notes of fame. . . . A must-read for anyone who loves layered characters, true-to-life personalities, and country music!"—Jason June, New York Times best-selling author Perfect for fans of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and Daisy Jones and the Six, this queer coming-of-age story celebrates country music, complicated women, and living authentically.
$12.99 US
Apr 02, 2024
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
320 Pages
Viking Books for Young Readers
Age 12 and up

The Queer Film Guide
100 great movies that tell LGBTQIA+ stories
9781922754295
Enjoy your night in with these movies that tell queer stories.
$19.95 US
May 16, 2023
6-2/7 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
208 Pages
Smith Street Books

Legendary Children
The First Decade of RuPaul's Drag Race and the Last Century of Queer Life
9780143134626
A definitive deep-dive into queer history and culture with hit reality show RuPaul's Drag Race as a touchstone, by the creators of the pop culture blog Tom and LorenzoNPR's Best Books of the Year 2020 pickA New York Times New & Noteworthy bookOne of Logo/NewNowNext's "11 Queer Books We Can't Wait to Read This Spring"
$18.00 US
Mar 03, 2020
5-1/16 x 7-3/4
Paperback
288 Pages
Penguin Books

Something to Talk About
9780593102527
A showrunner and her assistant give the world something to talk about when they accidentally fuel a ridiculous rumor in this debut romance.
$16.00 US
May 26, 2020
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
336 Pages
Berkley

Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse
9780525421641
In Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse, Nellie Sue does everything with a western flair. Whether it is cleaning up the animal sty (picking up her stuffed animals) or rounding up cattle (getting the neighborhood kids together for her birthday party), she does it like a true cowgirl. All she really needs is a horse. So when Dad announces at her birthday party, “I got a horse right here for you,” Nellie Sue is excited. But when her horse turns out to be her first bicycle, it will take an imagination as big as Texas to help save the day.Activities for Every Cowgirl Needs a Horse by Rebecca Janni
$18.99 US
Feb 23, 2010
8-1/2 x 11
Hardcover
32 Pages
Dutton Books for Young Readers
Age 3-5 years

RuPaul's Drag Race Mad Libs
World's Greatest Word Game
9780843183610
A new Adult Mad Libs based on the hit reality competition RuPaul's Drag Race! Run (in heels, if you can!) to pick up your copy for only $4.99.
$5.99 US
Jan 05, 2016
5-1/4 x 8-3/8
Paperback
48 Pages
Mad Libs

And the Category Is.
Inside New York's Vogue, House, and Ballroom Community
9780807007327
A 2023 Lambda Literary Award Finalist in NonfictionAn Electric Literature “Most Anticipated LGBTQ+ Book of 2022” SelectionA love letter to the legendary Black and Latinx LGBTQ underground subculture, uncovering its abundant legacy and influence in popular culture.
$16.95 US
Sep 13, 2022
6 x 9
Paperback
248 Pages
Beacon Press

Clay Pop
9780847899302
Clay Pop documents the reinvention of ceramic sculpture by a new generation of artists.
$65.00 US
Mar 28, 2023
10 x 12
Hardcover
256 Pages
Rizzoli Electa