The Long Ride Home

By Emanuel Berger | June 28 2022 | Children'sBlog

A tender picture book that celebrates memories and friendship about a young koala and a friend who has moved away.

Little Koala has a long ride home, and every place her mother passes invokes a memory of her best friend: the ice cream shop where they giggled uncontrollably; the hill in the park where they crashed their bikes (that memory also lives on as a little scar on Koala’s knee), the library where they borrowed their favorite book again and again.

Koala’s friendship blooms beautifully on the page, seamlessly interwoven with the ride home, and soon we learn just why these memories are so important: Koala’s friend has moved away. The story ends on a lovely note of hope: Koala and her friend are still close, despite the distance.

The Long Ride Home is a universal and broadly appealing friendship story that explores the power of memory with tenderness, warmth, and heart. Stephanie Graegin expertly balances the bittersweet sensations of cherishing a moment long past with artwork that is rendered in soft, sepia hues in a way that only she can.

Enjoy this Activity Sheet

The Long Ride Home
978-0-593-42602-9
A tender picture book that celebrates memories and friendship about a young koala and a friend who has moved away.
$17.99 US
Jun 28, 2022
9 x 11
Hardcover
40 Pages
Random House Studio
Age 4-8 years

Little Fox in the Forest
978-0-553-53789-5
Fans of Aaron Becker's Caldecott Honor winner Journey will love this utterly enchanting wordless picture book in which two friends follow a young fox deep into the woods and discover a wondrous and magical world.
$17.99 US
Feb 28, 2017
11-1/4 x 10
Hardcover
40 Pages
Schwartz & Wade
Age 4-8 years

Fern and Otto
A Picture Book Story About Two Best Friends
978-0-593-12130-6
Perfect for fans of Erin Stead and Emily Winfield Martin, here is a charming picture book about two friends who enter a fairytale world hoping to find an exciting story to tell.
$17.99 US
Sep 08, 2020
11-1/4 x 10
Hardcover
40 Pages
Schwartz & Wade
Age 3-7 years

Elvis Presley's Love Me Tender
978-0-7352-3122-1
The king of rock-and-roll's #1 hit song "Love Me Tender" is now an endearing picture book
$18.99 US
Nov 14, 2017
9 x 9
Hardcover
40 Pages
Dial Books
Age 3-5 years

Peace is an Offering
978-0-8037-4091-4
A warm, comforting poem about finding peace in a community of neighbors Peace is an offering.A muffin or a peach.A birthday invitation.A trip to the beach.Join this group of neighborhood children as they find love in everyday things—in sunlight shining through the leaves and cookies shared with friends—and learn that peace is all around, if you just look for it. With rhyming verse and soft illustrations, this book will help families and teachers look for the light moments when tragedy strikes and remind readers of the calm and happiness they find in their own community every day.
$17.99 US
Mar 10, 2015
7 x 9
Hardcover
40 Pages
Dial Books
Age 3-5 years

Water in the Park
A Book About Water and the Times of the Day
978-0-375-87002-6
Kids running through sprinklers, toddlers carrying overflowing buckets, dogs splashing in the pond--who doesn't love the park on a hot summer day?
$16.99 US
May 14, 2013
11 x 8-1/2
Hardcover
40 Pages
Schwartz & Wade
Age 3-7 years

The Lost Gift
A Christmas Story
978-0-553-52481-9
In this charming Christmas-themed picture book that feels like a classic, four animals deliver a package for Santa on Christmas Eve.
$17.99 US
Oct 18, 2016
8-1/2 x 11
Hardcover
40 Pages
Schwartz & Wade
Age 4-8 years