Join Us For Camp Penguin

By Portia Turner | July 15 2021 | AllChildren'sGeneral

It’s summer, which means SUMMER CAMP!  And here are PRH, we have a camp of our own, Camp Penguin!

Join us every day for different trivia and activities, with new links posted daily at 12pm ET.  Visit https://www.camppenguin.com/ for activities and more information!

Each week has a different theme, filled with a range of various activities!

Week 1: July 13-17 → Who HQ

Week 2: July 20-24 → Mad Libs

Week 3: July 27-31 → Kate the Chemist (a week of fun science experiments!)

Week 4: Aug 3-7 → Last Kids on Earth

 

Plus, check out the summer reading recommendations below for more to keep kids entertained all summer long!

Megabat Is a Fraidybat
978-0-7352-6805-0
Megabat and his best friend, Daniel, go to sleepaway camp for the first time. Another hilarious chapter book in this laugh-out-loud series for fans of Dory Fantasmagory and Narwhal and Jelly.
$8.99 US
Mar 02, 2021
5-1/2 x 7-1/4
Paperback
192 Pages
Tundra Books
Age 7-10 years
Grades 2-5

The Mosquito
978-0-7352-6647-6
Hilarious illustrated nonfiction about mosquitos perfect for beginning readers. Conversational text and silly illustrations will have you up all night reading about the most annoying bug on Earth!
$5.99 US
May 11, 2021
6 x 8-1/4
Paperback
32 Pages
Tundra Books
Age 6-9 years
Grades 1-4

The 2022 Almanac of Fun
A Year of Puzzles, Fun Facts, Jokes, Crafts, Games, and More!
978-1-64472-326-5
The 2022 edition of the most engaging activities from Highlights has 304 pages jam-packed with hundreds of brand-new puzzles, activities, jokes, crafts, quizzes, recipes, facts, and more for kids to enjoy all year long.
$14.99 US
May 04, 2021
6 x 9
Paperback
304 Pages
Highlights Press
Age 6-9 years
Grades 1-4

Random Acts of Drawness!
The Super-Awesome Activity Sketchbook
978-0-593-38405-3
Based on the hit Instagram drawing show from illustrator Brady Smith comes Random Acts of Drawness!, a wildly silly and super random book that's half activity book, half wacky art explosion!
$9.99 US
Feb 09, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
128 Pages
Penguin Workshop
Age

Me and Banksy
978-0-7352-6693-3
A Banksy-style protest against cameras in classrooms brings a group of middle-grade students together. For fans of Rebecca Stead, Susin Nielsen and Gordon Korman.
$7.99 US
Apr 06, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
224 Pages
Puffin Canada
Age 10 and up
Grade 5 & Up

Stand Up, Yumi Chung!
978-0-525-55499-8
One lie snowballs into a full-blown double life in this irresistible story about an aspiring stand-up comedian.
$8.99 US
Mar 16, 2021
5-1/16 x 7-3/4
Paperback
320 Pages
Puffin Books
Age 9-12 years
Grades 4-7

Innovation Nation
How Canadian Innovators Made the World Smarter, Smaller, Kinder, Safer, Healthier, Wealthier, Happier
978-0-7352-7060-2
This young readers edition of Ingenious focuses on 50 kid-friendly Canadian innovations that changed the world, from canoes to whoopie cushions, chocolate bars to Pablum. Co-written by Canada's former Governor General and accompanied by contemporary illustrations, this adaptation offers young Canadians a way to celebrate our history and world contributions.
$12.99 US
May 04, 2021
7-1/2 x 10
Paperback
128 Pages
Tundra Books
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7

Stepping Stones
(A Graphic Novel)
978-0-593-12524-3
A heartwarming graphic novel about a city girl who finds herself stuck on a farm--with baby chickens, out-of-control frogs, new step-sisters, and more--from New York Times bestselling author Lucy Knisley. Perfect for fans of fun and funny stories about real life problems, like Smile and Click.
$20.99 US
May 05, 2020
5-1/2 x 8
Hardcover
224 Pages
Random House Graphic
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7

The Unexplainable Disappearance of Mars Patel
978-1-5362-1910-4
Based on the Peabody Award–winning podcast, this tech-filled adventure series pits intrepid Mars Patel and his outcast friends against a brilliant, enigmatic billionaire as they race to figure out why kids are disappearing from their school.Mars Patel’s friend Aurora has disappeared! His teachers are clueless. His mom is stressed out about her jobs. But Mars refuses to give up—after all, his own dad disappeared when Mars was a toddler, before he and Ma moved to Puget Sound from India. Luckily, Mars has a group of loyal friends eager to help—smart Toothpick, strong and stylish JP, and maybe-telepathic Caddie. The clues seem to point toward eccentric tech genius (and Mars’s hero) Oliver Pruitt, whose popular podcast now seems to be commenting on their quest! But when the friends investigate Pruitt’s mysterious, elite school, nothing is as it seems—and anyone could be deceiving them. Slick science, corporate conspiracies, and an endearingly nerdy protagonist make this first book in the series a fresh, exciting sci-fi adventure.
$8.99 US
Apr 13, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
320 Pages
Walker Books US
Age 8-12 years
Grades 3-7

Clan
978-0-7352-6933-0
The classic survival story gets a prehistoric twist in this gripping middle-grade adventure featuring a boy and his saber tooth tiger cub, perfect for fans of Hatchet.
$10.99 US
May 04, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
256 Pages
Tundra Books
Age 9-12 years
Grades 4-7

Aggie Morton, Mystery Queen: The Body under the Piano
978-0-7352-6548-6
A smart and charming middle-grade mystery series starring young detective Aggie Morton and her friend Hector, inspired by the imagined life of Agatha Christie as a child and her most popular creation, Hercule Poirot.
$9.99 US
Apr 06, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
336 Pages
Tundra Books
Age 10 and up
Grade 5 & Up

Merci Suárez Changes Gears
978-1-5362-1258-7
Winner of the Newbery Medal A New York Times Bestseller“The realistic portrayal of a complex young Latina’s life is one many readers will relate to. . . . Medina cruises into readers’ hearts.” — School Library Journal (starred review)Merci Suárez knew that sixth grade would be different, but she had no idea just how different. For starters, as strong and thoughtful as Merci is, she has never been completely like the other kids at her private school in Florida, because she and her older brother, Roli, are scholarship students. They don’t have a big house or a fancy boat, and they have to do extra community service to make up for their free tuition. So when bossy Edna Santos sets her sights on the new boy who happens to be Merci’s school-assigned Sunshine Buddy, Merci becomes the target of Edna’s jealousy. Things aren't going well at home, either: Merci’s grandfather and most trusted ally, Lolo, has been acting strangely lately — forgetting important things, falling from his bike, and getting angry over nothing. And Merci is left to her own worries, because no one in her family will tell her what's going on. Winner of the 2019 Newbery Medal, this coming-of-age tale by New York Times best-selling author Meg Medina gets to the heart of the confusion and constant change that defines middle school — and the steadfast connection that defines family.
$7.99 US
Apr 07, 2020
5-1/2 x 7-3/4
Paperback
368 Pages
Candlewick
Age 9-12 years
Grades 4-7