Recognize – Honor – Celebrate Black History Month!

By Laurel Graziano | January 29 2021 | AdultsAllblogChildren'sGeneralPop Culture

We invite you to explore our collection of relevant classics and contemporary biographies, engaging memoirs, beautiful essays and history plus striking poetry (Amanda Gorman!) from a spectrum of voices. PRH has books for speakers & writers, for educators, for activists that speak to slavery, civil rights, the arts and current events — our books educate and engage readers of all ages!

 

Black History Month 2021

Kids’ and YA books for Black History Month 2021

Fiction & Non Fiction for Black History Month 2021

 

“Sometimes we have to do the work even though we don’t yet see a glimmer on the horizon that it’s actually going to be possible.”
― Angela Y. Davis

 


 

The Hill We Climb
An Inaugural Poem for the Country
978-0-593-46527-1
Amanda Gorman’s powerful and historic poem “The Hill We Climb,” read at President Joe Biden’s inauguration, is now available as a collectible gift edition. “Stunning.” —CNN  “Dynamic.” —NPR “Deeply rousing and uplifting.” —Vogue
$15.99 US
Mar 30, 2021
5 x 7
Hardcover
32 Pages
Viking Books
Age

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
978-0-8129-8002-8
Featuring a heartrending new foreword by Oprah Winfrey and the classic artwork from the original 1970 edition, this repackaged edition of Maya Angelou's groundbreaking literary debut is presented anew for adoring fans and first-time readers alike.
$18.00 US
Apr 21, 2009
5-5/8 x 8-1/4
Paperback
304 Pages
Random House Trade Paperbacks
Age

Hair Love
978-0-525-55336-6
"I love that Hair Love is highlighting the relationship between a Black father and daughter. Matthew leads the ranks of new creatives who are telling unique stories of the Black experience. We need this."      - Jordan Peele, Actor & Filmmaker It's up to Daddy to give his daughter an extra-special hair style in this ode to self-confidence and the love between fathers and daughters, from Academy-Award winning director and former NFL wide receiver Matthew A. Cherry and New York Times bestselling illustrator Vashti Harrison.
$17.99 US
May 14, 2019
9-1/2 x 10
Hardcover
32 Pages
Kokila
Age 4-8 years
Preschool - 3

I Am Every Good Thing
978-0-525-51877-8
An upbeat, empowering, important picture book from the team that created the award-winning Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut
$17.99 US
Sep 01, 2020
8-1/2 x 11
Hardcover
32 Pages
Nancy Paulsen Books
Age 3-7 years
Preschool - 2

The Oldest Student: How Mary Walker Learned to Read
978-1-5247-6828-7
Imagine learning to read at the age of 116! Discover the true story of Mary Walker, the nation's oldest student who did just that, in this picture book from a Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator and a rising star author.
$17.99 US
Jan 07, 2020
9 x 11
Hardcover
40 Pages
Schwartz & Wade
Age 4-8 years
Preschool - 3

She Persisted: Harriet Tubman
978-0-593-11565-7
Inspired by the #1 New York Times bestseller She Persisted by Chelsea Clinton and Alexandra Boiger comes a chapter book series about women who stood up, spoke up and rose up against the odds!
$14.99 US
Jan 05, 2021
5-5/16 x 7-5/8
Hardcover
80 Pages
Philomel Books
Age 6-9 years
Grades 1-4

Last Stop on Market Street
978-0-399-25774-2
#1 New York Times Bestseller A USA Today Bestseller Winner of the Newbery Medal A Caldecott Honor Book A Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book   This award-winning modern classic—a must-have for every child’s home library—is an inclusive ode to kindness, empathy, gratitude, and finding joy in unexpected places, and celebrates the special bond between a curious young boy and his loving grandmother. Every Sunday after church, CJ and his grandma ride the bus across town. But today, CJ wonders why they don’t own a car like his friend Colby. Why doesn’t he have an iPod like the boys on the bus? How come they always have to get off in the dirty part of town? Each question is met with an encouraging answer from grandma, who helps him see the beauty—and fun—in their routine and the world around them. This energetic ride through a bustling city highlights the wonderful perspective only grandparent and grandchild can share, and comes to life through Matt de la Peña’s vibrant text and Christian Robinson’s radiant illustrations.
$18.99 US
Jan 08, 2015
8-1/2 x 10-1/2
Hardcover
32 Pages
G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Age 3-5 years
Up to Kindergarten

Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero
978-0-593-12136-8
A coming-of-age tale about a boy who discovers a love of poetry after finding his late father's journal. Adapted from a story that first appeared in Flying Lessons & Other Stories and perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson.
$16.99 US
Aug 18, 2020
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
208 Pages
Crown Books for Young Readers
Age 8-10 years
Grades 3-5

The Snowy Day
978-0-14-050182-7
The magic and wonder of winter’s first snowfall is perfectly captured in Ezra Jack Keat’s Caldecott Medal-winning picture book. This celebrated classic has been shared by generations of readers and listeners, a must-have for every child’s bookshelf.   New York Public Library's #1 book on the list of “Top Check Outs of All Time” In 1962, a little boy named Peter put on his snowsuit and stepped out of his house and into the hearts of millions of readers. Universal in its appeal, this story beautifully depicts a child's wonder at a new world, and the hope of capturing and keeping that wonder forever. The quiet fun and sweetness of Peter’s small adventures in the deep, deep snow is perfect for reading together on a cozy winter day.   Ezra Jack Keats was also the creator of such classics as Goggles, A Letter to Amy, Pet Show!, Peter’s Chair, and A Whistle for Willie.   (This book is also available in Spanish, as Un dia de nieve.)  Praise for The Snowy Day: “Keats made Peter’s world so inviting that it beckons us. Perhaps the busyness of daily life in the 21st century makes us appreciate Peter even more—a kid who has the luxury of a whole day to just be outside, surrounded by snow that’s begging to be enjoyed.” —The Atlantic "Ezra Jack Keats's classic The Snowy Day, winner of the 1963 Caldecott Medal, pays homage to the wonder and pure pleasure a child experiences when the world is blanketed in snow."—Publisher's Weekly
$7.99 US
Oct 28, 1976
8-7/8 x 7-1/2
Paperback
40 Pages
Puffin Books
Age 2-5 years
Up to Kindergarten

Who Will You Be?
978-1-9848-4948-9
For fans of I Am Enough, The Day You Begin, and The Wonderful Things You Will Be, here is a poignant picture book about how family and community help shape the wonderful people our children become. Perfect for back to school--no matter what that looks like!
$17.99 US
Apr 07, 2020
9 x 10
Hardcover
40 Pages
Schwartz & Wade
Age 3-6 years
Up to Kindergarten

This Is Your Time
978-0-593-37852-6
Inspired by the recent wave of activism led by young people fighting for racial justice, civil rights icon Ruby Bridges--who, at the age of six, was the first black child to integrate an all-white elementary school in New Orleans--shares her story and offers a powerful call to action with this elegant gift book.
$15.99 US
Nov 10, 2020
5 x 7
Hardcover
64 Pages
Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Age 10 and up
Grade 5 & Up

Lifting as We Climb
Black Women's Battle for the Ballot Box
978-0-451-48154-2
For African American women, the fight for the right to vote was only one battle. This Coretta Scott King Author Honor book tells the important, overlooked story of black women as a force in the suffrage movement--when fellow suffragists did not accept them as equal partners in the struggle.
$19.99 US
Apr 21, 2020
6 x 9
Hardcover
176 Pages
Viking Books for Young Readers
Age 10 and up
Grade 5 & Up

Of Thee I Sing
A Letter to My Daughters
978-0-375-83527-8
Barack Obama delivers a tender, beautiful letter to his daughters in this powerful picture book illustrated by award-winner Loren Long that's made to be treasured! In this poignant letter to his daughters, Barack Obama has written a moving tribute to thirteen groundbreaking Americans and the ideals that have shaped our nation. From the artistry of Georgia O'Keeffe, to the courage of Jackie Robinson, to the patriotism of George Washington, Obama sees the traits of these heroes within his own children, and within all of America’s children.   Breathtaking, evocative illustrations by award-winning artist Loren Long at once capture the personalities and achievements of these great Americans and the innocence and promise of childhood.   This beautiful book celebrates the characteristics that unite all Americans, from our nation’s founders to generations to come. It is about the potential within each of us to pursue our dreams and forge our own paths. It is a treasure to cherish with your family forever.
$17.99 US
Nov 16, 2010
9 x 12
Hardcover
40 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Age 4-8 years
Preschool - 3

Well-Read Black Girl
Finding Our Stories, Discovering Ourselves
978-0-525-61977-2
An inspiring collection of essays by black women writers, curated by the founder of the popular book club Well-Read Black Girl, on the importance of recognizing ourselves in literature.
$20.00 US
Oct 30, 2018
5-1/2 x 7-1/4
Hardcover
272 Pages
Ballantine Books
Age

Black Futures
978-0-399-18113-9
An archive of collective memory and exuberant testimony. A luminous map to navigate an opaque and disorienting present. An infinite geography of possible futures. What does it mean to be black and alive right now?
$40.00 US
Dec 01, 2020
7-3/8 x 9-1/8
Hardcover
544 Pages
One World
Age

The Black Panther Party
A Graphic Novel History
978-1-9848-5770-5
A bold and fascinating graphic novel history of the revolutionary Black Panther Party.
$19.99 US
Jan 19, 2021
7 x 10
Paperback
192 Pages
Ten Speed Press
Age

Jubilee
Recipes from Two Centuries of African American Cooking: A Cookbook
978-1-5247-6173-8
Adapted from historical texts and rare African-American cookbooks, the 125 recipes of Jubilee paint a rich, varied picture of the true history of African-American cooking: a cuisine far beyond soul food.
$35.00 US
Nov 05, 2019
8 x 10
Hardcover
320 Pages
Clarkson Potter
Age

The Nickel Boys
A Novel
978-0-345-80434-1
Here is Colson Whitehead's bravura follow-up to his Pulitzer Prize- and National Book Award-winning #1 New York Times bestseller, The Underground Railroad. The Nickel Boys brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida.
$15.95 US
Jun 30, 2020
5-3/16 x 8
Paperback
224 Pages
Anchor
Age

The Bluest Eye
978-0-307-27844-9
A TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK! Nobel Prize winner Toni Morrison powerfully examines our obsession with beauty and conformity—and asks questions about race, class, and gender with her characteristic subtly and grace. In Morrison’s bestselling first novel, Pecola Breedlove—an 11-year-old Black girl in an America whose love for its blond, blue-eyed children can devastate all others—prays for her eyes to turn blue: so that she will be beautiful, so that people will look at her, so that her world will be different. This is the story of the nightmare at the heart of her yearning, and the tragedy of its fulfillment. Here, Morrison’s writing is “so precise, so faithful to speech and so charged with pain and wonder that the novel becomes poetry” (The New York Times).
$14.95 US
May 08, 2007
5-3/16 x 8
Paperback
224 Pages
Vintage
Age