Welcome Catapult/Counterpoint Press/Soft Skull Press!!

By Mary Callahan | January 1 2021 | General

We are excited to announce that beginning on January 1, 2021 Penguin Random House will begin distributing Catapult/Counterpoint Press/Soft Skull Press.   COUNTERPOINT LLC was created in 2007 through the acquisition of three notable independent presses: Counterpoint, Shoemaker & Hoard, and Soft Skull Press. In January 2008, the company began publishing under two imprints, Counterpoint and Soft Skull Press.  In 2016, Counterpoint merged with Catapult, an independent press and publisher of an award-winning online magazine.    Author-driven, they devote all energy to the fresh, cutting-edge, and literary voices of our authors. The genres covered  are vast—fiction and nonfiction, poetry, graphic novels, and anthologies, all of which collectively focus on current affairs and politics, counterculture, music, history, memoir, literary biography, religion, and philosophy.

 

  • Catapult & Counterpoint Press publishes award-winning fiction and nonfiction of the highest literary caliber. Since their launch in Fall 2015, Catapult’s books and  authors have won numerous major literary awards, and   are frequently named to the American Booksellers Association Indie Next List, and have been featured as Kirkus Reviews Best Books of the Year, Belletrist Book Club picks, and as The New York Times Editors’ Choice selections.
  • Soft Skull Press is an independent publisher of books that engage art, culture, and current events in new and radical ways. We publish every genre.

 


 

Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer
A Novel
978-1-948226-88-2
A fableistic, "beautifully crafted, poetic" debut novel of enormous power and grace about a sister trying to hold back her brother from the edge of the abyss for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Tommy Orange (The New York Times Book Review).  
$25.00 US
Mar 02, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
240 Pages
Catapult
Age

The Center of Everything
A Novel
978-1-64009-234-1
Set against the wild beauty of Montana as a woman attempts to heal from a devastating accident, this generational saga from the award-winning author of The Widow Nash is a heartfelt examination of how the deep bonds of family echo throughout our lives.
$26.00 US
Jan 12, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
304 Pages
Counterpoint
Age

Officer Clemmons
A Memoir
978-1-64622-057-1
This intimate debut memoir by the man known to the world as Mister Rogers' Neighborhood's Officer Clemmons, who made history as the first African American actor to have a recurring role on a children's television program, "doesn't ask you to be his neighbor, but rather just to hear his story: one of a man of profound strength and talent who stood up, sang out, and, after great struggle, was heard" (NPR).
$17.95 US
May 04, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
288 Pages
Catapult
Age

The Elephant of Belfast
A Novel
978-1-64009-400-0
Inspired by true events, this vivid and moving story of a young woman zookeeper and the elephant she's compelled to protect through the German blitz of Belfast during WWll speaks to not only the tragedy of the times, but also to the ongoing sectarian tensions that still exist in Northern Ireland today—perfect for readers of historical and literary fiction alike.
$27.00 US
Apr 06, 2021
6 x 9
Hardcover
336 Pages
Counterpoint
Age

Love Is an Ex-Country
978-1-948226-58-5
Queer. Muslim. Arab American. A proudly Fat woman. Randa Jarrar is all of these things. In this "exuberant, defiant and introspective" memoir of a cross-country road trip, she explores how to claim joy in an unraveling and hostile America (The New York Times Book Review).  
$26.00 US
Feb 02, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
240 Pages
Catapult
Age

Fake Accounts
978-1-948226-92-9
A NATIONAL BESTSELLER * Named a Most-Anticipated Book of the Year by Elle * Vulture * BuzzFeed * The Millions * Literary Hub * The Rumpus * Bustle * and more.   "This novel made me want to retire from contemporary reality. I loved it." --Zadie Smith   A woman in a tailspin discovers that her boyfriend is an anonymous online conspiracy theorist in this "incisive" and "funny" debut novel that "brilliantly captures the claustrophobia of lives led online and personae tested in the real world" (Publishers Weekly, starred review).
$26.00 US
Feb 02, 2021
6 x 9
Hardcover
272 Pages
Catapult
Age