EXTENDED! Mondays with Michelle Obama

By Caroline O'Connor | May 11 2020 | AdultsAllblogChildren'sGeneralVirtual Events

Penguin Young Readers, Random House Children’s Books, and PBS KIDS today announced a special collaboration with former First Lady of the United States, Michelle Obama, in support of the recently announced “Read Together, Be Together” Penguin Random House literacy initiative and PBS KIDS’ “Read-Along” effort on Facebook and YouTube. On Monday, April 20, at 12 noon (ET), “Mondays with Michelle Obama” will kick off a four-week series of videos that will feature Mrs. Obama reading aloud from beloved children’s books (one book every Monday through May 11).

“Mondays with Michelle Obama” (#PBSKIDSRead, #ReadTogetherBeTogether) will be livestreamed simultaneously on PBS KIDS’ Facebook page and YouTube channel, and on Penguin Random House’s Facebook page, and will remain available for viewing on demand on all of those platforms immediately thereafter. The four books Mrs. Obama will read are:

 

Mondays with Michelle extended schedule:

May 18, 12 noon EDT:      GIRAFFE PROBLEMS written by Jory John; illustrated by Lane Smith and THE BEAR ATE YOUR SANDWICH *with a special surprise guest*, written and illustrated by Julia Sarcone-Roach

 

May 25, 12 noon EDT:      OH, THE PLACES YOU’LL GO! written and illustrated by Dr. Seuss and CAN I BE YOUR DOG? *with a special surprise guest*, written and illustrated by Troy Cummings


Previously… 

 

April 20, 12 noon ET:      THE GRUFFALO Written by Julia Donaldson and illustrated by Axel Scheffler

 

April 27, 12 noon ET:      THERE’S A DRAGON IN YOUR BOOK Written by Tom Fletcher and illustrated by Greg Abbott

 

May 4, 12 noon ET:         MISS MAPLE’S SEEDS Story and pictures by Eliza Wheeler

                             

May 11, 12 noon ET:      THE VERY HUNGRY CATERPILLAR By Eric Carle

                             

Michelle Obama says, “As a little kid, I loved to read aloud. And when I became a parent, I found such joy in sharing the magic of storytelling with my own children—and then later, as First Lady, with kids everywhere. At this time when so many families are under so much stress, I’m excited to give kids a chance to practice their reading and hear some wonderful stories (and to give parents and caretakers a much-needed break).”

The Gruffalo
978-0-14-240387-7
A mouse is taking a stroll through the deep, dark wood when along comes a hungry fox, then an owl, and then a snake. The mouse is good enough to eat but smart enough to know this, so he invents . . . the gruffalo! As Mouse explains, the gruffalo is a creature with terrible claws, and terrible tusks in its terrible jaws, and knobbly knees and turned-out toes, and a poisonous wart at the end of its nose. But Mouse has no worry to show. After all, there’s no such thing as a gruffalo. . . .
$7.99 US
Mar 02, 2006
8-1/2 x 10-5/8
Paperback
32 Pages
Puffin Books
Age 3-7 years
Preschool - 2

There's a Dragon in Your Book
978-1-5247-6638-2
OH LOOK! The cutest baby dragon has hatched inside your book! Get ready for another lively, interactive read-aloud in the There's a... In Your Book series! Now available in a sturdy board book edition!
$17.99 US
Sep 04, 2018
10 x 10
Hardcover
32 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 3-7 years
Preschool - 2

Miss Maple's Seeds
978-0-425-28889-4
This stunning New York Times bestseller that's perfect for fans of Miss Rumphius is now available in paperback!
$8.99 US
Apr 18, 2017
10 x 9
Paperback
40 Pages
Puffin Books
Age 3-5 years
Up to Kindergarten

The Very Hungry Caterpillar
978-0-399-20853-9
THE all-time classic picture book, from generation to generation, sold somewhere in the world every 30 seconds! Have you shared it with a child or grandchild in your life? Carle's classic tale of a voracious caterpillar who eats his way through the days of the week and then changes into a eautiful butterfly has been reissued in a sumptuous twenty-fifth anniversary edition with a shiny, silver-coated cover and wonderfully thick, durably pages. —The Horn Book "The very hungry caterpillar literally eats his way through the pages of the book—and right into your child's heart..." —Mother's Manual "Gorgeously illustrated, brilliantly innovative..." —The New York Times Book Review Watch a Video
$21.99 US
Oct 15, 1981
11-3/4 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
32 Pages
World of Eric Carle
Age 2-5 years
Up to Kindergarten