Children’s Latinx and Hispanic Heritage Month Activity Packet

By Caroline O'Connor | September 15 2022 | Children'sGeneralAll

Check out this amazing Hispanic and Latinx Heritage Month Activity Booklet from Random House Children’s Books. It is filled with fun activities like making your own decorations, learning new palabras (words), mazes, and more! Activities are in both Spanish and English. To access, click the image below!

 

 

Areli Es Una Dreamer (Areli Is a Dreamer Spanish Edition)
Una Historia Real por Areli Morales, Beneficiaria de DACA
978-0-593-38008-6
En esta edición en español del primer álbum ilustrado escrito por una beneficiaria de DACA -una "dreamer"- Areli Morales narra su poderosa historia como inmigrante.
$18.99 US
Jun 08, 2021
11 x 10
Hardcover
40 Pages
Random House Studio
Age 4-8 years

Areli Is a Dreamer
A True Story by Areli Morales, a DACA Recipient
978-1-9848-9399-4
In the first picture book written by a DACA Dreamer, Areli Morales tells her own powerful and vibrant immigration story.
$17.99 US
Jun 08, 2021
11 x 10
Hardcover
40 Pages
Random House Studio
Age 4-8 years

Lotería
978-0-593-17696-2
The turn of a card could change your destiny in this captivating middle grade adventure based on the Lotería card game and perfect for fans of Coco. While searching for her missing cousin, a young girl is transported to a mythical kingdom, becoming entangled in a perilous game of chance. “A magical, philosophical tale rooted in Mexican lore.” —School Library Journal, starred review
$16.99 US
Sep 07, 2021
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
320 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Age 8-12 years

Nosotros Means Us
Un cuento bilingüe
978-0-593-30514-0
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a parent and child in the tradition of Runaway Bunny and The Wonderful Things You Will Be.
$17.99 US
May 11, 2021
9 x 9
Hardcover
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Age 3-5 years

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
978-1-5247-0048-5
A poignant but often laugh-out-loud funny contemporary YA about losing a sister and finding yourself amid the pressures, expectations and stereotypes of growing up in a Mexican-American home. Soon to be a Netflix film directed by America Ferrera
$18.99 US
Oct 17, 2017
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
352 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Age 14 and up

Rescatando palabras (Digging for Words Spanish Edition)
José Alberto Gutiérrez y la biblioteca que creó
978-0-593-18170-6
A Spanish edition of DIGGING FOR WORDS, a gorgeous and inspiring picture book based on the life of José Alberto Gutiérrez, a garbage collector in Bogotá, Colombia who started a library with a single discarded book found on his route.
$17.99 US
Sep 08, 2020
9 x 11
Hardcover
40 Pages
Random House Studio
Age 4-8 years

Digging for Words
José Alberto Gutiérrez and the Library He Built
978-1-9848-9263-8
A gorgeous and inspiring picture book based on the life of José Alberto Gutiérrez, a garbage collector in Bogotá, Colombia who started a library with a single discarded book found on his route.
$17.99 US
Sep 08, 2020
9 x 11
Hardcover
40 Pages
Schwartz & Wade
Age 4-8 years

Mexican WhiteBoy
978-0-440-23938-3
Newbery medal winner and New York Times bestselling author Matt de la Peña's most well-known novel, Mexican WhiteBoy, a story of identity and self-discovery, now with a stunning new cover for a new generation of readers.
$9.99 US
Jan 12, 2010
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
272 Pages
Ember
Age 14 and up

Suncatcher
(A Graphic Novel)
978-0-593-12482-6
Filled with music, passion, supernatural secrets, and family, Jose Pimienta's Suncatcher brings to life a contemporary story of a girl growng up in Mexicali, with a supernatural twist and a lot of music.
$24.99 US
May 19, 2020
5-3/4 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
224 Pages
Random House Graphic
Age 12 and up

Salsa Lullaby
978-0-525-57973-1
How to get baby to sleep? Mami and Papi will try anything in this bouncy, loving, bilingual lullaby that gently says good night in both Spanish and English.
$17.99 US
Oct 15, 2019
9 x 9
Hardcover
32 Pages
Knopf Books for Young Readers
Age 3-7 years

Mi Little Golden Book sobre Frida Kahlo (My Little Golden Book About Frida Kahlo Spanish Edition)
978-0-593-17438-8
A Little Golden Book biography of Mexican artist Frida Kahlo, written for preschoolers.
$5.99 US
Jan 12, 2021
6-5/8 x 8
Hardcover
24 Pages
Golden Books
Age 2-5 years

Before We Were Free
978-0-399-55549-7
A new paperback edition of Julia Alvarez's beloved Pura Belpre winner about life in Trujillo's Dominican Republic.
$10.99 US
Mar 27, 2018
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Paperback
208 Pages
Ember
Age 12 and up

Rosa's Song
978-0-593-37549-5
In this diverse picture book, a young immigrant from South Korea finds community and friendship in an apartment house filled with other newly arrived kids.
$17.99 US
Jun 14, 2022
8-1/2 x 11
Hardcover
40 Pages
Random House Studio
Age 4-8 years

La guardiana de la libreta
Una historia de bondad desde la frontera
978-0-593-48646-7
A Spanish edition of THE NOTEBOOK KEEPER, the inspiring story of a mama and her daughter who are denied entry at the U.S. border, and must find the refugee in charge of “the notebook,” an unofficial ledger of those waiting to cross into the U.S.
$17.99 US
Jun 28, 2022
9 x 11
Hardcover
40 Pages
Random House Studio
Age 4-8 years

The Notebook Keeper
A Story of Kindness from the Border
978-0-593-30705-2
Based on true events, this inspiring story follows a mama and her daughter at the San Ysidro border in Mexico, who are looking for the “notebook keeper”—a refugee who writes down the names of the families seeking asylum in the United States—so they can add their names to the list.
$17.99 US
Jun 28, 2022
9 x 11
Hardcover
40 Pages
Random House Studio
Age 4-8 years