The Creature of Habit

By Emanuel Berger | August 11 2022 | Children'sBlog

A delightful picture book about a creature of habit whose routine suddenly gets disrupted by the unexpected arrival of a new friend. A perfect story for little readers learning social emotional skills that explores the joy of trying something new!

A very big creature with big teeth, big eyes, and very big feet lives on the island of Habit. Every day the creature happily does the exact same things in the exact same order.

That is, until a small boat carrying a very small creature with small teeth, small eyes, and very, very small feet arrives on the island. The big creature is excited to share his routine, but the small creature has ideas of his own. The little creature does something different every day–it’s madness to the big creature!

Can these two creatures learn to understand each other? Is the island big enough for both of them? Colorful and captivating, this is a story about learning with and from your friends.

Enjoy these Summer Activity Sheets:

The Creature of Habit
978-0-593-17305-3
A delightful picture book about a creature of habit whose routine suddenly gets disrupted by the unexpected arrival of a new friend. A perfect story for little readers learning social emotional skills that explores the joy of trying something new!
$17.99 US
Nov 09, 2021
9-3/4 x 11-1/2
Hardcover
40 Pages
Random House Studio
Age 3-7 years

No More Naps!
A Story for When You're Wide-Awake and Definitely NOT Tired
978-1-5247-7128-7
Imagine if you could steal your toddler's nap? This picture book debut from a #1 New York Times bestselling author turns the universal dilemma of getting kids to sleep upside down!
$17.99 US
Feb 04, 2020
9 x 11
Hardcover
40 Pages
Random House Books for Young Readers
Age 3-7 years

Goldfish on Vacation
978-0-385-38611-1
From a New York Times bestselling author and a rising-star illustrator comes a humorous tale based on an amazing but true story about the summer a city fountain was used as a goldfish pond.
$17.99 US
Apr 10, 2018
8-1/2 x 11
Hardcover
40 Pages
Anne Schwartz Books
Age 4-8 years

Jackrabbit McCabe and the Electric Telegraph
978-0-385-37843-7
A deliciously clever tall tale--perfect for the Common Core classroom--in which the fastest man in the West meets his match.
$17.99 US
Sep 08, 2015
10-3/4 x 9-1/4
Hardcover
40 Pages
Schwartz & Wade
Age 4-8 years

Windfall
978-0-399-55937-2
A lush, gorgeously written romance about how one chance event can change everything, for fans of Jennifer Niven and Jenny Han.
$18.99 US
May 02, 2017
5-1/2 x 8-1/4
Hardcover
432 Pages
Delacorte Press
Age 12 and up

Islandborn
978-0-7352-2986-0
From New York Times bestseller and Pulitzer Prize winner Junot Díaz comes a debut picture book about the magic of memory and the infinite power of the imagination.
$17.99 US
Mar 13, 2018
8-1/2 x 11
Hardcover
48 Pages
Dial Books
Age 5-8 years